Art for Day #8

I made this door hanger today for my niece B. She requested this particular saying on it. She’ll hang it on her bedroom door when she’s sleeping or wanting privacy. I used purple embroidery floss for the hanger (and the embroidery). I just braided 9 lengths of 6 strand DMC and then sewed it into the little sandwich. The fabric used was scraps from the project I worked on yesterday. Started to hand quilt this, but I didn’t have a color on hand that looked good, so I’m calling it officially finished without quilting it. I’ll try to get it in the mail to her tomorrow.
This entry was posted in Art Every Day Month, door hangers. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Art for Day #8

  1. jen* says:

    What a fun aunt you are! I would have loved a sign like this when I was growing up…and even in the dorms at college. It is so assertive and to the point!

  2. Leah says:

    i agree, you are an awesome aunt! this is so fun!

  3. Rebecca says:

    In college, I had a welcome mat that said in red– GO AWAY.My aunt made made my prom dress.You've really honored her with your gift!

  4. linda says:

    Awesome! I think it's a great, useful item to create…everyone needs some privacy after all!

  5. Yes, you definitely are a fun aunt. And, what fun to see what other folks are doing on the AEDM challenge. So nice to connect with you!

  6. Oh! That's so fun! I wish I had one of those when I was a teenager! 🙂

  7. pam q says:

    Teenager???I would like to have one of these signs now!

  8. Brittani says:

    @Pam: I'm the Niece, not a teenager anymore :PAunt Sharon, I LOOOOOOOVE it!!! Mom told me you posted it on here, and I was going to keep it a surprise for myself, but decided to look 😉 Don't make me a different one, this is PERFECT. Thank you so much! Can't wait to hang it on my door 🙂

Comments are closed.