Kantha Stitching

Kantha is a type of stitching that I first saw on the blog, Spirit Cloth written by Jude Hill. I’ve attempted it myself on a couple of my small art quilts. Rage and Black Cat both have my variation of kantha stitching on them. I had wanted to use kantha for Thou Shall Not Steal Pecans, but I had trouble with the batting bearding through to the front of the quilt. I used Mountain Mist 100% cotton batting in that quilt, which is a perfectly wonderful batting to hand quilt with traditional quilting thread. I apparently needed a batting with a scrim for kantha stitching on that particular fabric because it was a little more loosely woven than what I normally use. That’s why I think the Warm and Natural batting will work for kantha and that wonderful hand dyed fabric by Marcia Derse. It has a thin scrim. I’m excited to think of the possibilities! I will let you know how it goes as soon as I know.

Kari, thank you for the kantha link.

This entry was posted in art quilt, blogs I've found and loved, friends, hand dyed fabric, kantha, rage, Thou Shall Not Steal Pecans. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kantha Stitching

  1. jude says:

    kantha stitching works best with either no batting or something like flannel as a substitute. if there is too much loft, the stitches get lost in it.

  2. Sharon says:

    Very true Jude! Or the batting beards through, which is one problem I've had.

Comments are closed.