I was over at Ree’s Place

Ree’s blog is The Pioneer Woman and there are several parts to her blog.  Today I started with Home and Garden.  She was talking about her clothes in her closet.  I felt the need to leave a comment.  This is what I said:

“You would hate my closet Ree! I basically wear t-shirts. Almost all of my t-shirts have some kind of quilt related writing on them. If I’m going somewhere that I need to be somewhat dressy, I wear a t-shirt without writing on it. To me, that’s dressed up. Although I do know that even my normal dress up clothes aren’t dressy enough for funerals and jury duty. I have a few pairs of slacks and regular blouses for that kind of thing, but I can’t tell you what they look like to save my soul. Thankfully, it’s been a few months since I’ve been to a funeral or on a jury.”

I kid you not, to me being dressed up is indeed wearing a t-shirt without words on it!  I like it that way.  I don’t wear make up often either and when I do, it’s only mascara and a little lip something or other.  I do not wear perfumes at all, ever.  Period.  End of story.  I stopped all of that when I moved out to the country because I found that the make up caked up and ended up in a pool under my eyes.  I’d go to the grocery store and post office, then come home and discover that I looked like a rabid raccoon!  The perfumes just attracted bees and wasps and I did not want to get stung.  I later found out that I was quite allergic to perfumes of all kinds.  They give me migraines.  So, the country life has simplified my life and my clothes and makeup budget.  Basically, there isn’t one. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I was over at Ree’s Place

  1. Tracey says:

    LOL! You are funny. I love P.Woman – her blog is almost overwhelming; so many beautiful areas to look at. I have every type of clothing you can think of(except something for the red carpet); I work in an office that fortunately doesn't require anything more than jeans & a 'sensible' shirt/blouse/whatever. Makeup: forget it; very sensitive eyes so eye makeup went by the wayside years ago; lipstick only. But as soon as I get home, it's my jeans w/big giant holes & a giant old T-shirt.

  2. pamq says:

    I think you must have taken a look in my closet, too!In my case, I find lots of good stuff at the thrift shops….really nice clothes for cheap.Hurray!I look at so many of the clothes and shoes today and I just don't get it. Whatever would they want to wear that for?????

Comments are closed.