Some Surprising News for Me

I got an email this evening that 2 of the 3 haiku that I had submitted into the “Eye of the Quilter” exhibit of the International Quilt Festival in Houston, Texas this year have been accepted!  The “Eye of the Quilter” is an exhibit of quilter’s photographs and haiku, which is a form of Japanese poetry, just in case you didn’t know.  I’m thrilled!  I wish I could share them with  you tonight.  Unfortunately, I accidentally deleted them a little over a week ago.  I did a mighty clean up on my computer, you see. 

I’ve never had the courage to submit any of my quilts into the show.  I’ve seen the competition and believe me, it is plenty stiff!  This is an International quilt show of amazing quality.  If you like quilt shows and you’ve never been to it, I highly recommend it.  If you are a quilter, bring money too.  There are vendors a-plenty to whet your appetite for all things quilt related.  It’s difficult to see all of the quilts in one day.  Fortunately, it’s a multi-day show.  This year it’s running from November 4th through the 7th.  I hope you can make it there.  I’m going to try to go after I leave Oklahoma.  If I miss out, I have a friend who will write down my haiku for me.  I’ll post them after the show.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Some Surprising News for Me

  1. Anyes says:

    Congratulations Sharon, a poet and a talented photographer, I can’t wait to read you. 🙂

  2. birdie says:

    Sharon, that’s so fantastic!!!! congratulations :-))) hugs!

  3. Kari says:

    What great news. I hope you can make the show. I’m so glad I was able to go as much as I did while I was in Dallas. it such an inspiring show.

Comments are closed.