Sonshine Words I Miss

When my son was little bitty, I would sing,  You Are My Sunshine to him when we were driving around in the car.  Of course, I thought of him as my Sonshine.  I still do.  I loved the fact that he loved my singing back then.  He would even request more by saying “do dah momma do dah!”.   Of course there comes a time when all little lovers of momma’s singing grow large enough to become music critics.  That was a sad, sad day in my car.  But, let’s not travel back to that just yet.  Let’s remain in the happier memories of signing and happy words. 

The idea for this week’s list came when I was reading a story in a Chicken Soup for the Soul book that my friend Tracey gave me.  It was written by grandparents and this particular story was about a grandson who often used a wrong word that was very similar sounding to the correct word in his sentences.  It was hilarious and reminded me of all the words my little sonshine would use that weren’t quite right.  All kids do this, of course, it’s part of learning.  The problem is that I almost hate it when they do learn the correct word.  I miss the little mistakes that make them so funny and precious.  So unique and so … well like little kids! 

I’ll explain one word on my list, the others are self explanatory.  I had taken my son with me to visit a friend one day.  On our way home, I was stopped and given a ticket for an expired license plate.  That was when I found out that they don’t forward you the renewal forms when you move.  Not 30 minutes later, when I drove into my own little city, I was stopped again.  At which point my little sonshine became worried that I would be “under arrested”.  Bless his little heart.  He was not calm until that police officer was back in his car and driving off, with us driving in the opposite direction.

If you want to join in on the list fun, just make one and then head on over to artsyville and leave a comment on this post with a link to your list.  Lots of fun!

This is post 499.  Giveaway on post 500!

This entry was posted in list it tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sonshine Words I Miss

  1. aimee says:

    oh!!! i think kids should be the ones to invent words – they are so much better at it than adults! well, i’m having a hard time deciding between pee-day and hopticopter for my fave out of this bunch. my daughter used to call it a hello-topter!

  2. Buffalo Lucy says:

    Oh, this is one of my favorite lists! My oldest is 8 (and my youngest isn’t really talking yet) so the days of “festibals” and “tittie tats” are but fond memories for now. 🙂

  3. S.E.Minegar says:

    adorable post! i love the sweet stories that accompany this list. my nephew used to call my husband cho-co Andy (for uncle). cho-co eventually morphed into chunkle. now that he is bigger, i miss hearing his baby speak.

  4. Lynn Fisher says:

    I love these! So inventive. I’m still teased in my family to this day for combining several words as one, “thatsadogdaddy”…stuff like that. Embarrassing actually.

  5. A lovely list – so cute! I knew a little girl who used to call a helicopter a helicarpet and your son’s hopticopter reminded me of that!

    It is so interesting to see what everyone comes up with. I love List It Tuesday and hope it continues and grows!

  6. My son is two (a late talker) and I love, love, LOVE his words! I want him to stay this age forever, I swear! I’ll take the temper tantrums to keep the cuteness! Your “hopticopter” is my favorite. My son gets tripped up on the “L”, so it comes out something like “ellaella”, along with a hand gesture for the blades of the helicopter.
    Thank you for reminding me to go write this down in his journal before I forget it!!
    -Nicole
    (PS- thanks so much for your visit and comment on my blog as well!)

  7. marion says:

    Love these words and the beautiful way in which you share them with us!
    My little E used to have these mixed up ways of saying things, and I found them just to sweet to correct…she’ll get them right someday, but in the meantime she her take on these words makes me smile!

Comments are closed.