Friction

“Friction” is the new prompt word for Sunday Scribblings.    The first thing I thought of when I read the word, was rug burn.  Then I immediately blushed.  I’m pretty well-known for writing about everything, honestly and not holding back, but I’m not quite ready to write about rug burn yet.  Sorry.  Moving on.

The next friction thought to come to mind was starting a fire the really old-fashioned way.  I’ve never had to rub two pieces of wood together to start a fire by friction, but I’ve sat by many wood fires in my time.  I’ve loved it.  The smell of wood smoke.  The dancing flames.  Especially the dancing flames!  The orange, yellow and blue of the flames.  The sparks flying up, the logs dropping down as they burn in half and drop apart.  The occasional s’mores.  The people I’m with around the fire.  The amazing conversations, even if words aren’t actually spoken.  Cuddling together if the weather is cool.  Nothing is better.  We almost always had a bonfire if we were “in the country” for Thanksgiving.  Maybe that’s one of the reason’s it’s my favorite holiday now.  So many good memories.

This entry was posted in Sunday Scribbling. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friction

  1. Reflections says:

    Beautiful memories… actually quite the challenge rubbing two sticks together to create that fire… but definitely worth the effort sitting to watch the dance of the flames, feeling the warmth radiate to those around it.

  2. AW says:

    I agree! Goes to prove, friction is sometimes good! 🙂

  3. Old Grizz says:

    you and I are very much alike…very close to being pyromaniacs.

  4. Lilibeth says:

    So friction may start the fire but it sounds like anything but friction in the peace of those sitting around it. ah. I love Thanksgiving too.

Comments are closed.