The Pets We Have Loved

It is List it Tuesday over at artsyville.  We all know how I love a good list.  Well, if it’s my list, it doesn’t even have to be a good one.  This week, I made a list of pets we’ve loved over the many years of my life, starting with the very first one I ever saw myself pictured with (Pooch, a mutt).  Then going to the first one I remember (Tiny, a chihuahua that loved my mother and snapped at my father).  I put stars beside the two we have now.  I briefly forgot about Fred (we gave him to my momma when we had to move to a place that wouldn’t let us have a dog and he got loose and was never found) and Doobie who died as a puppy.  There is a story there, but not for today.  Buck-O was my childhood dog.  He was already full-grown and trained when we got him.  I was 16 when he died and had literally just met my husband to be.  I wish I could remember how old I was when he came to  us.  Maybe 6 or seven.  I know we had him when I was eight. 

Fred was the first dog my son had, but Lady is the first he’d remember.  She was with us until after he married and left home, I think. 

It’s not too late to join in on the fun.  If you would like to join in, just make a hand written list, take a photo and leave the link on this post at artsyville.  We do it every Tuesday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Pets We Have Loved

  1. Cathy says:

    aw…this is a memeory lane i go down often, but i don’t think i’ve ever written it down!

  2. Lynn Fisher says:

    We have had all sorts of dogs and rabbits, most of whom lived a long full life and are now burried in our garden. Sniff…sweeties…love the list!

  3. Sugarplum Kawaii says:

    Poor Iguana?! What happend?

    We have no pets in the family…and yet my children adore dogs…particularly Dachschunds.

    Our neighbour had a giant rabbit ( Dutch breed ) called Oscar. It kept escaping into our garden. The first time i saw it i nearly had a seizure. Looks like that giant ‘Were-rabbit’ from Wallace and Gromit. It bounded around and trampled the newly planted vegetables and pooped everywhere. He escaped for good though by gnawing through the various fences and then legged it down the street!

  4. S.E.Minegar says:

    you are making me tear up. now i want to list my pets past and present (well, my parents’ present). we are a pooch lov’n family. all of our dogs had people names…Macy, Katrina Sarita Jose (Katie for short), Heidi, Brittany, Penny, and Max. Then there was Martin our bird. my parents had a pup named D.O.G. (pronounced deeohgee) before i was born. you’ve created my next list!

    🙂

  5. What a lovely list! It has made me think over the pets I’ve had growing up and the two furballs that currently take over my life (mentioned at number 1 in my list funny enough!) Animals make such an impression on your life and I think the unconditional love and devotion they offer you is something amazing. My favourite quote is: Until one has loved an animal a part of one’s soul remains unawakened. (Anatole France) I think it is so true.

  6. aimee says:

    oh that’s so sweet! they never last long enough, do they. thanks for participating!

Comments are closed.