It Was Lovely

I’m sorry I’ve been away so long.  Just having a hard time getting back into the real life groove, I guess. 

Thanksgiving was dear, lovely and bittersweet.  For the first time ever, we had all of the children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren in one place at the same time!  (I forgot to take a photo of the group — Ugghh!)  We sorely missed the dear women who had passed earlier this year, but their absence did not dampen our spirits during the festivities. 

This gathering was something I had wanted and tried for many times over the last couple of decades.  My sister’s husband works in the newspaper industry and has always had to work on Thanksgiving, so they could never be with us.  It took the death of my sister, for my brother-in-law to be able to take time off on Thanksgiving. 

My son, being in the military, was normally far from home and for one reason or another, couldn’t come home for the holiday either.  It took the death of my daughter-in-law for my son to be able to move close enough to be able to come.   

As I said, bittersweet.  Ironic even, maybe.  When I say it out loud, each time, I end up in tears.  I finally get the family Thanksgiving I’ve wanted for so long, and it took the death of these dear ones to bring it about.  It’s not fair, but at the same time, I’m so grateful that each of the families decided to spend the holiday with us all as a group.  It made it so much easier and it was such a blessing to be together.  We were also fortunate to have my cousin Mike and his momma, my Aunt Barbara join us.  That was so nice.  I hadn’t seen Aunt Barbara in so long.  It was a wonderful day. 

Thank you Momma and Bob for hosting all of us.  We appreciate it.  *The photo at top does not show us all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It Was Lovely

  1. Sundey McClendon says:

    I knew that was Aunt Barbara by the back of her head. I think she is so beautiful and funny. So sorry we missed it!

  2. Anyes says:

    Sharon, I am glad that you finally got the Thanksgiving you always wanted and I believe your sister and daughter-in-law were close by, watching you and they were happy the whole family gathered, the way you had wished for so long.

Comments are closed.