Looking Toward the New Year

Basically two days left of this year.  I can’t say that I’ll be sorry to see it go.  I lost my dear sister this year and my grandchildren lost their dear mother.  It’s been more than a “difficult year”.  It seems like the last 4 or 5 years have gotten progressively worse in some way, even though each year I’ve hoped, prayed and wished for the next year to be better than the one that just ended.  I’m almost afraid to wish for it again.  To voice the wish for a better year in 2011 than I had in 2010 seems to be daring God to see what else I can survive that I haven’t been through yet — or lately.  I mean there has to be some reason for the continued challenges.  I’m supposed to be learning something here, right?  I’m hoping that God has seen that I am not only a strong woman, but that I now know I am a strong woman.  I’ve learned this over the last several years.    I believe this in the core of my being and I pray this was the lesson I was supposed to learn. 

My momma used to tell me that “what doesn’t kill us, makes us stronger”.  I believe that now more than ever.  Living it, is a sure way to learn it inside and out.  Even with all of the pain I’ve lived through over the last several years, I know that my life is not as hard as many.  I know that I have not gone through more than others have gone through.  I know that I am very blessed.  I am grateful for all that I have and even for all I’ve been through.  I would not be who I am without going through the trials I’ve been through. 

Still, I wish that next year will be better than this year has been and better than the last several years have been.  That we will suffer no deaths of loved ones — family, friends or even pets.  That we will all be employed.  That we will discover no horrible, hurtful secrets.  That we will not feel the weight of someone’s life in our own  hands.  That we will be healthy for the whole year.  That each person I love will be happy.  I hope it is not too much to wish.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Looking Toward the New Year

  1. Kim says:

    I am so sorry for your losses, Sharon. I hope the coming year will bring you ease from the sorrows.

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you as well.

  2. Kim Mailhot says:

    The sadnesses and hardships seem to always be there in this life. But also, the love, closeness to those who “feel it” too, and the chance to celebrate the beauty and the goodness of the moments we share in this bittersweet life.
    I hope for much less bitter and much more sweet for you in the coming year, Sharon !
    Big Love !

  3. Valerie Hart says:

    Oh Sharon I can feel the pain of your losses in this post… sigh. The plain truth of it is that we are all going to leave this blessed earth at some point. It is just very sad to see people go before they have had a chance to spread their wings and live a full life. I hope the New Year brings you love, prosperity and peace…

    As Sharon wishes for herself to have a year free of human trials and tribulations, so I wish for her also.

    Love & blessings,
    xoxo Valerie

  4. Marilyn says:

    i believe that part of our strength comes from being able to see and acknowledge our blessings while we’re in pain…it sounds like you do that beautifully. wishing you a gentle, kind, blessed 2011. with many good wishes…as you wish for yourself, i wish for you also.

  5. Sherri says:

    I started 2010 off with some losses myself. I am sorry that you had a similar experience. All good things for 2011.

    As Sharon wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  6. MaryK says:

    Sharon, you’ve been through so very much, I’m sorry for your losses and the other troubles you’ve endured. It sounds like it can only get better from here on. Like the old saying goes, ‘It always gets darkest before dawn.’
    As you wish for peace, prosperity and health for yourself and others, I wish for you also.

  7. Wonderful wishes based on love for yourself and those you care about!

    As Sharon wishes for herself, so do I wish for her as well.

  8. pamq says:

    I am feeling excited about the new year for the first time in a LONG time.

    I’m ready for it.

    It WILL be good.

    Right?

    Right.

  9. Anyes says:

    Sharon, I wish for all your wishes to come true. Health, Love, Joy and Abundance to be in your life, and the life of the ones you love, for this coming year.

  10. jamie says:

    As Sharon wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    I’m so sorry for your losses, Sharon, and for the how hard it has been. May 2011 bring ease, delight and lots of love. I’m sending you some right now 🙂

Comments are closed.