Focus for 2011

Over the last year, I’ve read many blogs — wonderful, inspiring, fun blogs.  I remember coming across some that mentioned a word that they had focused on during the year.  It may have been peace or health or creativity.  I don’t remember the words picked by each of the people I had come across and it honestly doesn’t matter because they were personal to each of the people who picked them out.  To be honest, I don’t even remember which blogs I read about the words on.  I wish I did.  I’ve tried to find them recently to see if they were talking about a word for next year.  I couldn’t.

I’ve been thinking about my own word.  You see, I’m about to turn 51 years old in a few days.  I no longer do New Year’s resolutions and as much as I love a list of goals that I’d love to accomplish in the coming year, even those feel a little weighty to me lately.  So the idea of a word to focus my life around seems more my speed. 

The word that I’ve picked is ORDER!  I want more order in my life.  I want to get my life in order.  I want to bring order to my little etsy business.  I guess I don’t feel that I have as much control as I should and order will give it back to me.  So, that is what I’ll be working on in the coming year.  Order in my life.  Hopefully, by 2012 I will feel that I have more order and have accomplished what I set out to do.  Is there one word that you want to work on in your own life?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Focus for 2011

  1. charlane says:

    hello and welcome – i’m so glad to find you through your comment. picking a word each year has become popular in the circle of bloggers that i read – i’m glad it speaks to you. i find it gentler and kinder than the hard edges of resolutions.

    i see from your list that you and i read some of the same – i love julie (moments of perfect clarity) and christina (soul aperture) – they are some of my very favorite folks.

    here’s to a better year…bring it on! 🙂

    Happy new year!

  2. birdie says:

    Sharon, a very happy New Year to you!!! Lots of strong health, love, joy and laughter and ‘order’ 😉 … xoxo

  3. Chris says:

    Love your post Sharon! It gave me the incentive to come up with a word or words of my own for the new year as well as the idea for a new year post. Stay tuned.

  4. Kari says:

    Sharon,
    I hope you have a happy, healthy and orderly new year!
    -Kari

  5. pamq says:

    I’m thinking…..settled…..

    But I think I was thinking that last year.

    Oh, my.

Comments are closed.