Happy Birthday to Me!

1/7/11

Today is my 51st birthday!  I am a year older and, hopefully, wiser.  As I started to write my age, I hesitated.  I don’t know why.  The alternative to being 51 is not being here at all.  I’m glad to be alive.  I’m lucky.  I know that.  Not everyone is as lucky as I am.  Not everyone lives to be 51 years old.  So, I have proudly stated my age.  I hope that I will always do that.  Regardless of how chubby I am or how much grey hair I have, I am 51 years old and I am enough just as I am.

The photo above is of African Christmas beads.  I was wearing them in the photo of myself that I posted for my photo of the day on 1/3/11 in this post.  My blog friend Pam had emailed and asked me about the beads.  So, this photo is for her and you to enjoy.  I love these beads!  They are not made into a necklace yet.  I just slipped them all over my head and wore them as they are — still on the strings they come on when I bought them.  I had originally wanted to make a necklace for myself that had about 5 strands of beads, but now, I want the whole thing, just like in the photo of me.  There are 14 strands of beads here.  So, I guess I’ll be making a necklace with at least 14 strands of beads!  That should be lots of fun.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. Anyes says:

    I wish you a very Happy Birthday, Sharon 🙂

  2. charlane says:

    happy happy birthday!! i hope it is an amazing year for you and warm wishes for a fantastic birthday

  3. pamq says:

    Happy Birthday, my friend!!!

    How strange—just this morning I thought to myself…I think Sharon has a birthday soon…..

    You are just a young’un at 51……

    Love the beads! Thanks for the photo! And yes, you should make the entire batch into a beautiful, beautiful necklace for yourself!

    And I want to see a photo of that when it is done………… 😉

  4. birdie says:

    Happy birthday Sharon! I hope you had a wonderful birthday 🙂 The beads are wonderful, so colorful I love that and I so agree with you that you should be happy that you are alive, no matter how young 🙂

Comments are closed.