This One Has No Name

She is just as loved as the others, but a name has never come to me for this little machine.  I think she weights around 16 pounds.  She’s a Singer 301A, which is a slant needle machine.  She also only sews forward and backward, just like her sister machine the Singer 221 FW.  That slant needle makes it a little easier to see what you’re sewing though and I really like to use her.  She makes a beautiful stitch. 

1/8/11

These machines are not as collectible as the FW.  They cost less generally than the FW.  In my opinion they are a great little machine.  Made very similarly to the FW, they use the exact same bobbin.  This would be a great substitute for anyone who wants a FW, but can’t afford one. 

I believe this little darling was made sometime in the 1960’s.  If you have a name suggestion for her, please leave it in the comments section.  I’d love to finally give her the name she deserves.  With your help, I may be able to.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This One Has No Name

  1. pamq says:

    My first thought was Blanche.

    Then I thought Betty…..

    I love that you name them!

  2. charlane says:

    i was thinking Jackie (as in Jackie Kennedy) iconic of the 60’s

  3. Kari says:

    A little late to the conversation, but when I think of the 60s and women I think of Peggy Flemming. Peggy would be a nice name for a 60s era sewing machine.

  4. Pingback: Ethel Marie | Happenings on Chaos Ranch

Comments are closed.