It Is Dang Cold!

2/2/11

I am not used to dang cold weather!  I don’t want to get out of bed because my bed is the warmest place in my house.  This all reminds me of the first winter we lived here and we didn’t know how to “work” our wood burning stove correctly.  We just about froze to death that winter!  It was another really cold winter that year!  With a wood burning stove,  you have to not only keep it banked, but you have to keep the thing fed.  You have to add wood in the wee hours of the morning or it will die out in the later wee hours of the morning and you will freeze.  I had to buy an electric blanket that year, the only year I’ve ever had to use it.  I don’t even know where it is now or if it’s still useable.  After all, that was more than 20 years ago.  I may have even sold it in a yard sale.  The problem is that my allergies are so bad now, that we don’t even use the wood burning stove any longer.  We still have it, at my insistence, just in case we should have an ice storm and lose power for several days.  I want a back up plan.  I don’t like having popsicle toes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It Is Dang Cold!

  1. Anyes says:

    Brrrr…Sure is cold around where you live, but you have a warm heart so all is well. Stay warm 😉

  2. charlane says:

    i’m allergic to wood fires too – they dry my sinuses so bad. hope it gets better and you’re warm soon.

  3. pamq says:

    Oh, Sharon.

    Those slippers are awesome!

    I took some “feet photos” the other day, too—I will have to post them soon….

Comments are closed.