On this day of Football and Parties….

2/6/11

Today was glorious!  I went out for a bit.  After all the cold weather and being cooped up, I had to have more of that Bananas Foster ice cream.  I’d been thinking of it all week!  So, I went to the post office and Wal-Mart to get what I could.  It was 63 degrees!  Can you believe that?  I couldn’t, but I’m sure not complaining!  I loved every second I was out of this house.  I even drove with my windows down and wished for a convertible and a much shorter hair do.  I had 3 postcards waiting for me in my mailbox.  One had taken 103 days to get to me!  I’ll show them in a later post. 

I’ve been thinking a lot today, and the last several days, about hunger in America.  I know that we are at war.  I know that we have a huge number of Americans out of work.  Still, the number of hungry Americans is obscene.  There is something profoundly wrong here folks.  Something wrong at the basic, grassroots of our country that this has been allowed to happen.  No one in our country should be hungry.  No child, no elderly person.  No person.  Everyone in the country should have food, some kind of basic shelter, medical and dental care.  This is just how I feel.  I have no idea how to make these things come about, but I do know that the political system we have of constant back stabbing and lobbyist interference is certainly not going to do it.  It hasn’t so far, so it’s not likely to in the future.  Albert Einstein said “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”  I think our political system has entered into the insanity realm.  But that’s just my little humble opinion and although I vote and vote regularly, it doesn’t seem to matter.  Everyone else seems to be so afraid of change, that they continue to vote for what we have had in the past and what we have the majority of now.  Shame on you, if you have done that!  You have not helped this country or the hungry people in it or the cold, homeless veteran attempting to sleep under a bridge in a box somewhere. 

I don’t know how I came across the Members Project from American Express and Take Part, but I try to go there every week to vote on my favorite charity listed.  There are 5 winners every 3 months.  Those 5 winners split $1,000,000.  That amount of money can do a lot of good within a charity.  Voting in the Members Project led me to Share Our Strength.  They were started in 1984 and now have a goal to end childhood hunger in America by 2015.  That is only 4 years from now.  I think they are going to need a little more help.  No Kid Hungry is also part of the movement.  Please click on one of these links, or both of them, and check them out.  See what you can do to help children in your own area.  Ending childhood hunger in America can have a huge beneficial impact on our country and on our communities.  These beautiful children deserve our help.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.