Ethel Marie

2/8/11

I bought Ethel Marie from Juliette.  She was a used machine and cost me $500.  She is the only computerized machine I have or hope to have.  She does all kinds of things — from zig zag, to zip-ah-dee-do-dah!  My very favorite thing to make on her is fabric postcards!  I haven’t made them in a while though.  Her light bulb is burned out which means I need to haul her heavy self into Dallas to get a new one.  She is so old that the store can’t tell me what bulb to get, they need to see it!  When I manage to make myself do this, I’ll get several of them.  She was named when I got her.  She will always be Ethel Marie. 

one of my fiber postcards

By the way, I finally decided on a name for the tan machine that I showed you last month.  I got several wonderful suggestions.  All of which would have worked perfectly.  The one that felt great to me, that spoke to me is Pinky!  That suggestion must have come to me privately because it’s not in the comments of the post.  I don’t remember now who suggested it.  Thank you to whoever it was!  For some reason, Pinky made me think of the character Frenchy in Grease (the movie set in the 50’s with Olivia Newton John and John Travolta) and I could just picture a more grown up “Pinky” from the 50’s now sewing on this sweet 301 machine in the 60’s. 

fiber postcards

I still have one more sewing machine to show you in the near future.  Not really sure when it will be, but it will be fairly soon, I’m sure.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ethel Marie

  1. Anyes says:

    Sharon, I love to read your naming all your sewing machines, and your fiber postcards are looking really cute 😉

  2. pamq says:

    Pretty fancy machine!

    And pretty fancy postcards!

    Rock on.

Comments are closed.