Postcrossing and Love from Friends

I love the sepia colors of this postcard.  It was sent by Anna, a student in high school.  She says that she is from Poland.  This postcard shows a street where the Fair of Saint Dominic takes place every summer.  She says you can get everything there!  It took 103 days for this postcard to get to me!  So far, this was has traveled the longest.  After 60 days a postcard is considered “expired” and you can go ahead and send another one.  Even though it may show up eventually, you don’t have to wait any longer than 60 days for it.  I have had 2 of my cards “expire” before arriving at their destination.  Today, one of the expired cards arrived after 85 days.  Now only one is expired. 

This card is from Natasha in Kyiv.  She says this is the main square of her country, but that many, many years ago it was a bog and hunting ground for the princes of Kyiv. 

I like this card of Las Vegas, Nevada.  Jeffrey says that Las Vegas is the largest US city founded in the 20th century.  It is also the only city that has a scenic day and night drive.  Now, that was something I had not thought of before, but I do believe he may be right about it.  It’s one of the few places I’ve been that I’ve gotten a postcard from. 

This is from my friend Yvette!  She’s an amazing woman.  She runs marathons, does iron man competitions and other types of physical endurance races to raise money charity.  She is my hero.  She sent me this one for my birthday this year from the Goofy run at Walt Disney World.  I wish you could see it in person.  It has a 3D effect.  The things in the back, in the dark blue move when you move the card.  Really fun!

This great card is from my blog buddy Chris.  It was taken at the National Museum of Women in the Arts and is of The Three Graces a part of the New York Avenue Sculpture Project.  Aren’t they great?!  I love them!  I wish I could see them in person.  As it is, I’ve put this postcard up on a mirror near my computer instead of in my postcard book.  I want to be able to see it all the time.  It makes me happy! 

This postcrossing card came in this envelope.  Just look at those great stamps!  The postcard is a Chinese New Year card.  It was stamped at the Shanghai Expo in 2010.

I got this postcard today from another blog buddy, Se’Lah.  The postcard is from a series of portraits by famed photographer Steve McCurry.  Isn’t it great?  He has captured this man’s soul through the look of his eyes.  Amazing photography!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Postcrossing and Love from Friends

  1. Chris says:

    Hi Sharon, glad you liked the post card. I almost didn’t send it because I really liked the three dancing figures but I knew you’d love it so off it went!!

Comments are closed.