This Challenge Bites

2/21/11

I’m behind on my online class.  I don’t how I ended up letting myself get behind, but I did.  I was trying to catch up on it last night, when we were challenged to give something up, for one week, that we could be using to help us to “numb” ourselves to our real (uncomfortable) feelings.  One thing listed was “give up Facebook, twitter and texting”.  I very seldom Facebook and I don’t text or twitter.  So, I couldn’t give that up.  The next one listed was “stop gossiping”.  Well, I don’t really do that right now.  I’m not around a bunch of women who know the same women.  I’d love to say, yes, that’s what I’ll do, but it feels like cheating.  The third option was “no sweets, no snacks”.  I just gave up coke!  What more do you people want from me?  (That one just seems a bit harsh with the coke withdrawal still in effect.)  Then the last option was “turn off the tube”.  So, I turned off the tube.  It hasn’t been quite 24 hours and I feel like something has got to give and soon!  I don’t know if I can do this.  In fact, when I took the photo, I had planned to turn on the TV right after it.  I – am – going – nuts!  My skin feels like it’s crawling.  Maybe TV and cokes are just too much in one week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to This Challenge Bites

  1. Anyes says:

    Come on girl, you can totally do it…How about a super awesome book, you’ve always wanted to read but never got around doing it? I know TV and coke at the same time…Talk about super withdrawal…I feel so lucky I don’t like pop and not a TV fan either. I feel your pain though. Hang on 😉

  2. You’re right Anyes! I need to make a list of things to do while I don’t watch TV so that I’m ready when the pull starts to pull me.

  3. pamq says:

    I am just the opposite of you—most of what I see on TV makes my skin crawl….

    :-0

  4. charlane says:

    that is a lot to give up! but…in some ways i gave up tv on the weekend and had a great time.

  5. Pingback: On Yesterday’s List | Happenings on Chaos Ranch

Comments are closed.