Walking Down Memory Lane

I’ve always been a crafty girl.  The very first craft my momma taught me to do was embroidery when I was about six.  I mostly did the stem stitch I think (or maybe it was the outline stitch), but that was fine because that was as fancy as I wanted to get at the time.  I embroidered pot holders and bibs for gifts.  You know, the kind that were pre-stamped with a pattern on them.  I remember doing some kind of Sesame Street bib for my cousin Marc when he was born.  I was 10 or so.  It may have been Big Bird.  I think I did one for my son when he was born too. 

Over the years, I tried decoupage (I did this quite a long time), making potholders from those loop things on a loom (remember those?), making pillows from wash cloths, yarn and stuffing (looked like crap), counted cross stitch (did this an even longer time),  quilted (still do this some), knitted a bit (still a beginner),  dabbled in photography (still dabbling), painted (still a beginner) and I rug hooked a little, but not enough to be a real hooker.  If you can think of it, I may have tried it, at least once.  I couldn’t get the hang of needlepoint, which truly saddened me.  It’s such a beautiful craft.  I haven’t tried crochet or tatting yet, but I’d like to one day. 

The other day I got an email from the Bright Side Project.   They deliver almost daily doses of sunshine to your mailbox in the form of companies giving away prizes for answering a question.  The one that caught my eye that day was none other than Sublime Stitching!  This website is fab-u-lous!!!  I love all of their great patterns and do-dads!  I was on the website, I kid you not, for hours the first night.  The second night too, for that matter.  I looked at every pattern and product for sale, then every link on the blog.  I’ve placed my first order and am already coming up with my second order.  I’m also hounding my mailman.  I’m so excited!  Be sure you check them out.  Their tagline is “This ain’t your gramma’s embroidery!”.  They aren’t kidding either.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Walking Down Memory Lane

  1. charlane says:

    can’t wait to see your projects. i wish i still saw good enough to stitch. i miss that.

Comments are closed.