My Mailbox was Happy Today

Postcrossing sends out an end of month type report on how many times your mailbox was happy.  It tells you how many days you got postcards in your mailbox, the different countries you mailed to and got mail from.  That sort of thing.  Today, when I went to the post office, I had 4 postcards.  The first thing I thought was “Wow!  My mailbox sure is happy today!”.  Does this make me a nut or a Postcrosser?

The first card today is from Nick in Holland.  It say’s “Hi Sharon I recently became a member of Postcrossing.  You’re the first I send a card.  Funny.  Everything oke in the USA?  Best Regards Nick”  After I sent my message to him telling him how much I liked getting the first card he sent and how much I liked his card.  I went to look at his profile.  He is only 11 years old.  What an amazing grasp of English he has!  I am amazed at these people, all around the world, who can speak so many different languages.  I can barely speak English and it is my native language. 

The second card is from Erin.  She says “greetings from New England” so I’m assuming that is where she lives.  (I don’t think D.C.  is considered New England.)  The postcard shows the Washington Monument in Washington D.C. with the cherry trees in bloom!  I’ve never been to Washington D.C. and so I’ve never seen all of those lovely cherry trees in bloom.  I’m sure that as lovely as this postcard is, it doesn’t even begin to do it justice.  Maybe I need to add that to my bucket list.  It would surely be a beautiful thing to photograph.  I know it would be unforgettable also.  I might even be able to squeeze in a trip to some of the Smithsonian museums!

The third card is not a postcrossing card, but I did want to share it with you on this post.  I love elephants and have such an amazing respect for these awe-inspiring animals.  Did you know that when one of them dies, they each pass by, touching it, as if in a funeral procession saying goodbye.  Then they leave.  I saw it on a TV program.  It was just heart wrenching to watch.  You could see the pain in their eyes.  This card came from Asiye who contacted me through this blog several months ago when I asked if anyone wanted to exchange postcards.  We’ve been doing it ever since.  I think we’ve each sent about 3 now.  She lives in South Africa and sends me wonderful cards of a beautiful country I’ll probably never get to see in person.  She says that “seeing elephants in the wild is still amazing!”  I can only imagine.  Here is the back of the card, showing the stamp!  Asiye, I hope you don’t mind me sharing what you have written to me with the world.  

The fourth, and last, card for today is a postcrossing card and it is from Briggie in Berlin.  It came in an envelope.  I don’t normally like that as much as getting them naked, but I’m really glad this one came in an envelope because it helped protect it.  (you may have noticed that two of today’s postcards had a little scuffing damage to them from the mail)  This is a photo postcard that Briggie made herself from her own photography!  She says that she “made this photo with a close-up lens from a distance of a few centimeters only”.  I love it.  So much so that I may frame it instead of putting it in my postcard book.  I can’t get close-up shots like this with my camera.  I don’t have a macro lens. 

That is all for the postcrossing love today.  I’ll have more to share with you soon.  Have a great weekend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.