Sew the Fun Begins!

3/6/11

As I told you a few days ago, I got my order from Sublime Stitching in the mail on Wednesday.  Since I had to cut my alphabet pattern all up to do my first project, I wanted to make a copy of it, so that I could use it in the future when the iron on wore off or if I lost a letter.  So, hubby scanned it into the computer today and printed out the sheet for me.  It came in handy for what I was doing today.  Mainly because I tend to get things backwards.  The letters are printed in reverse so that they will iron on correctly, but I wanted to look at them on the sheet to make sure I had the top at the top and the bottom on the bottom.  It helped me tremendously and will be a great reference for me in the future.  At this point, I have “kitchen closed” with one of the robot heads on it.  I’ll probably put something on all four sides. 

When I opened my bin of embroidery thread, I found three packages of iron on transfers that I had purchased at some point in the past.  I remember buying the holiday transfers.  I got them at the same time I got the 6 flour sack towels that I’m using to embroider on now.  One of which I just ironed my space guy on.  I don’t remember putting the transfers in the box with the thread.  Would have been nice if I had remembered that while I was looking for them over the last week or so.  If you click on the photo, you may notice that there are a lot of envelopes in the bin.  Each one has a different DMC embroidery floss in it.  At one point, I had every floss color DMC made.  I don’t any longer.  I remember “selling” some of my supplies to an old friend’s sister.  I don’t remember ever getting the money.  Oh well, live and learn.  Don’t sell your supplies if you might get back into some form of it. 

This is a DMC floss color card.  I got it back in the day, so I could plan all those projects I had planned to plan on my own.  As it turned out, I didn’t really plan many, if any, but I did love having this color card and I still do.  It does come in handy for things like this.  Hunting for that color yellow you want to use in the K or the C or maybe the orange for the rays coming out of the space guys eyes!  Yes, the sewing fun is beginning and it is so fun!  Or would that be sew fun?  What are you doing today that is fun?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sew the Fun Begins!

  1. Janet says:

    Hang on to that floss color card. The new ones only have the colors printed, not the actual floss samples.

    • I will! Thanks for letting me know. I can’t imagine that the ones with the colors printed are nearly as good. I ripped my card today on one of the folds right before I read this. If I’d read it first, I would have been more careful.

Comments are closed.