Change of Plans

My grandkids came to Texas to visit the other side of their family.  This morning they went to the other grandparents house.  Their aunt Angie (the call her aunt Gee) is who they normally stay the weekends and nights with, but she works during the week, so the grandparents keep them during the day.  Angie was out-of-town until this evening.  As it turned out, their Nanny (other gramma) had a blood pressure problem today.  It sky rocketed out of control.  Pawpaw (other granpa) had to take Nanny to the ER and left the kids with Aunt Barbara.  Nanny had two doses of medication and her blood pressure was still quite high, so the doctors told her that she should not to be keeping extra kids this week.  They have a young daughter that they adopted several years ago and apparently two foster kids at the moment, six was just too many.  Barbara also had three children/foster children to care for at her home and decided that she was too old to handle six kids for a week.  Angie had to work.  My hubby sleeps during the day.  So, unfortunately, the Texas visit has been cut very short. 

Aunt Gee is bringing the kids to me in the morning.  I will run a few errands with them before we leave, but we are headed to Oklahoma and their home after that.  Maybe we’ll go to the zoo or something this week.  I don’t know.  All I know for sure is that they are all disappointed.  Even my son, who got no time to himself after all. 

It’s sure to be an emotional week too.  It’s closing in on the one year anniversary of their momma’s death.  The oldest hasn’t said anything about it specifically, but she’s emotional.  I got a frozen margarita at dinner last night and she was pretty much unnerved by the thought of me drinking one drink.  I was not driving.  It was memories of her momma.  She remembers her momma buying a lot of alcohol, but her momma really didn’t drink all that much.  That’s not the way my granddaughter remembers it though.  I think she was sure that drink would kill me, or at the very least turn me into an addict.  I don’t think I’ll ever be able to drink in front of her again.  Thankfully, I’m not a big drinker anyway.  Only Woodchucks on occasion (I bought two six-packs of them the day after Thanksgiving, I still have most of the second one) and a couple of frozen margaritas a year, maybe.  Before last night, my last one was around Labor Day.  My heart hurts from causing this child pain.  I sure hope the rest of the week goes well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Change of Plans

  1. pamq says:

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed!

  2. Prayers to your grandgirl and her heartaches. She’s lucky to have you, Sharon. Everything will work itself out. It always does! 🙂

  3. charlane says:

    it is funny what children will key on as a big issue. my nephews do that with my sister and her ex’s relationship. she tells the truth and the boys take it as a criticism. i’m sorry you’re having a tough time – i hope the grandmother is feeling better soon!

Comments are closed.