Today’s Fun in Arcadia, OK

I’m going to tell you this in reverse order because I was so enchanted by our second stop in Arcardia, Oklahoma this morning.  By looking at this photo, do you have any idea of what you are looking at?  I’ll admit that even when I first saw it, I thought it looked like a basket.  So, if you guessed that, I can’t really blame you, but you are so very wrong.  Sorry.  This is the inside of a barn.  A round barn!  If I had been alone while looking at the gift shop and museum type things, I could probably tell you how many there are in the United States.  I can tell you without knowing for sure, that there aren’t many.  I saw a sign that said there was one (or some in Minnesota) but other than that, I don’t know if there are any others in the States or not.

They had photos of several round barns around the world on display.  And they had photos of this barn before its restoration and of course, after the work was completed 4 years later.  I got a couple of postcards that showed the before and after also.  Amazing.  There was a lot of hard work and love put into the old barn.  It is just beautiful.  You can rent out the top portion (where the kids are in the second photo) for weddings and that sort of thing.  I loved the tiny white lights strung up.  I think they make everything festive.  I’d like to have them all over my yard at home and even in my bedroom.

3/18/11

From the outside you can see all of the little windows all along the barn.  We could see them inside too and I imagine they would help tremendously with ventilation on those hot August days of hauling hay up to the top for the cows and horses of yesteryear.  I’m really glad we took the time to find it after going to Pop’s.  We had no idea where the round barn was and we didn’t ask anyone at Pop’s for directions.  I have a book about things that are “off the beaten path in Oklahoma” and it had mentioned that the round barn was west of something.  So, I started driving west when we left Pop’s and it wasn’t more than a few miles down Highway 66!  It’s hard to miss, actually, being four stories high.

The whole reason for going to Arcadia today was to go to Pop’s to get a buffalo burger for me!  I can’t eat beef because of food allergies.  I’ve been wanting a burger for months and haven’t had one in — I don’t know how long.  So, I called them up earlier in the week to see if they still served them, to be told — yes, on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.  So, at lunch on Friday, we were there!  It was good.  I’m still full and I did not eat even half of the fries.  I still want another burger soon though.  The place is called Pop’s because they have several hundred different sodas to choose from.  Here is one last photo showing some of the ones that line the walls of the A frame building from floor to ceiling.  They are not for sale.  Just in case you are curious.  One more thing you may be curious about — my grandson likes my brownies, now that they are totally cooled off.

*A couple of the photos were lightened on 3/27/11 when I returned home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Today’s Fun in Arcadia, OK

  1. charlane says:

    the bottles make great decoration. i’m glad you got your burger – that sounds like a great idea for dinner tonight…hmmm, think i need to get busy.

  2. pamq says:

    If I remember right, there is a small round barn on the fairgrounds in Slayton, Minnesota…….

    That burger looks GOOD!!!

  3. Pingback: Adjustments | Happenings on Chaos Ranch

Comments are closed.