Thinking of my Sister

3/31/11

I was on my way to the post office.  Walking to the car.  I hadn’t even gotten to the gate leaving the yard yet.  I was thinking of my sister.  The anniversary of her death is nearing.  It’s so very hard to believe she’s been gone almost a year!  I still can’t believe she’s gone at all.  I was talking to her, as I often do.  Telling her that I miss her.  I always watch where I walk because I tend to trip on roots and step into holes and fall.  My knees are bad now from such falls in the past.  I spotted this heart-shaped rock and for once, I remembered to take a photo before I snatched it up!  Do you see it? 

I had never found even one heart-shaped rock on my property before Teresa’s death.  I’ve found more than a dozen in the last year and my grandchildren have found some too.  And I mean that we’ve found them just on the little patch of earth that is our walkway to the car, where we walk all the time.  Where I look down while I walk all the time.  Where I have been looking for more than 20 years.  Tell me my sister doesn’t have something to do with me finding these rocks.  You can try, but you’ll never convince me of it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thinking of my Sister

  1. Sharon, I truly believe your sister is somewhere in another dimension, guiding your steps allowing you to find those heart-shaped rocks. She knows how much you miss her.

  2. Chris says:

    I believe those we love are not only looking out for us but send us little tokens from time to time to let us know. I often find pennies and usually attribute them to my Dad who passed away 33 years ago the day after Father’s Day. As you can imagine Father’s Day is a tough day for me. I feel for you Sharon.

Comments are closed.