My Hand Quilting Sample

4/12/11

I’ve used this small quilt to show my hand quilting for several classes that I’ve taught in the past.  I don’t know when or if I’ll teach hand quilting again.  I don’t hand quilt that often any longer.  I wanted to share this with you because I may give it away one day.  Wanted you to see it before that ever happened. 

This is one little quilt that I’m very proud of.  You see, I couldn’t tell the front from the back.  So, I had to just pick one side to be the front and go from there.  That means that my stitches are even and pretty on both sides.  That is what we strive for when hand quilting, but it is not always easy to accomplish.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Hand Quilting Sample

  1. birdie says:

    Sharon, this is just beautiful!!! wow. How long did it take you to make it? I so love quilting, I wish I lived nearer to you so that you can teach me 🙂 sending love.

  2. Thank you, Birdie! I don’t remember how long it took to quilt, it was several years ago. I’m imagine it was at least a few days, because I would have taken out stitches that didn’t look good, so I could redo them. It’s a small quilt, so probably no longer than that. It is a shame we don’t live closer so we could quilt together.

    Sharon

  3. pamq says:

    A few days???????????????

    I think it would have taken me a year.

    At least.

    That is downright gorgeous, Sharon!!!

  4. charlane says:

    love the white on white

Comments are closed.