A Treasure of a Find

4/21/11 #3

4/21/11 #2

 While I was at my quilt  retreat recently, I had a “sit and sew” session come up.  This is a monthly gathering of my mini group — the Jane Does.  I had not been able to attend the meetings of this group in 4 months or more, so I took the opportunity to go to the meeting on the Saturday of retreat.  It was good to see the few ladies who were able to attend that day.  We visited, sewed together and generally had a good time. 

4/21/11 #1

While I was there, I broke the needle that I had brought to sew with.  I was doing hand work (embroidery) on my Dance with your Soul quilt, which is another small art quilt.  I had to buy a new needle while at Quilters Connection, the shop we meet at.  I was using a number 8 size embroidery floss.  I think it’s actually  a crewel floss.  I needed a needle that could accommodate the floss’ thickness and that would be fairly easy to thread.  Sashiko needles were recommended to me, so I tried these Japanese needles for the first time.  I love these needles!  They were easy to thread.  The needle was easy to use.  It felt like I was putting a hot iron through butter!  Amazing.  I’ve already asked them to order me two more packages.  I think they’ll work great with some of the other embroidery I have to work on.  *I’m really sorry, but I can’t get the photos to go where I want them to.  So frustrating!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Treasure of a Find

  1. pamq says:

    Love the needle package, but oh, Sharon! Those floss colors are gorgeous!!!

Comments are closed.