waves hit you when you least expect it

4/28/11

I left the house this afternoon to head to the post office.  It was a glorious, cool day and I was so surprised by the cool weather and so happy to be out in it!  As I walked to the car, I looked for heart-shaped rocks.  A new habit of mine.  I found none today.  I got in my car, turned on the radio and headed out of the driveway.  As I got to the end and stopped at the highway to check for traffic, I noticed a single thistle bloom and wished for a goldfinch to eat on it.  Maybe another day.

I drove along, happily singing to the radio when I was suddenly hit by a huge wave of grief for my sister!  I miss her.  I miss talking to her.  Don’t get me wrong, I still talk to her, but she doesn’t talk back.  I miss our conversations!  I miss seeing her hands and her smile.  I miss hearing her voice.  She would have loved this day.  This day the Lord has made.  She would have been planting something out in that muddy earth.  Then again, it may not be muddy or a gloriously cool day where she was living, but I think she still would have been planting something today.  I found myself crying as I was driving.  I had to wipe away tear after tear so that I could see the road I was on.  I wasn’t expecting this today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.