A New Pen and Stationery

closed -- the pen is 4 and 1/4" long

I need to see pretty today.  So, I decided it was a good day to show you my new fountain pen and my new stationery!

I’ve wanted a fountain pen for years.  I’ve drooled over them and window shopped, but I could never figure out which one to get — first.  I always felt that I would buy several eventually, but where to start?  If I didn’t like the first one, I might never buy a second.  So, after a lot of looking and reading blogs written about pens, paper and writing, I stumbled upon this little gem.  It is a Kaweco Sport and it was only $15.  Many fountain pens are quite expensive and I just couldn’t start with one of them.  It came with blue ink, which is great and all, but I wanted something special for my first fountain pen.  So, I looked at the inks available for it and found peacock-blue!  I ordered a box of that wonderful sounding color!  When my pen arrived, I took out the cartridge of “regular” blue and put in one of my peacock-blue.  I love it.  I love the pen too.  It’s actually a great pen for me to write with because I have to remember not to bear down too hard, which is something I’ve always done.  It makes my hand hurt after a short time now when I do that.

when the pen is open, with the cap on the top, it is 5 and 1/4" long

I got this lovely stationery while on my quilt retreat a couple of weeks ago.  The peach colored cards were on sale at the Paper Source.  I might not have gotten them otherwise.  Peach is not a favorite color of mine.  I’m so glad that I did though because the cards are thick and luxurious.  I love writing on them.  I wish I had more of them actually!

The butterfly stationery is a box of loose sheets with envelopes.  It is apparently very difficult to find loose sheets nowadays.  I got these at Papyrus, along with the Gramma cards.  I haven’t used either of them yet, but will soon.  I hope my pen writes as well on them as it did the peach cards.

What about you?  Do you ever hand write letters now?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New Pen and Stationery

  1. Martha Wolf says:

    There is no substitute for a hand written note, especially when using a fountain pen. I’ve used one my whole life, when I learned to write in Germany as a little kid, we used fountain pens in school. I still prefer to write “real” thank you notes!

    • Learning to write with a fountain pen! That is so cool! I’d never heard that before from anyone. I’m totally jealous. 😉 I’m really enjoying my little fountain pen and I hope to get another one soon. Thanks for your comment Martha!

      Sharon

  2. Martha wolf says:

    I want to add that when I started school in Germany in the late 60’s, we not only learned to write with a fountain pen, but we learned cursive script first. Printing letters was not taught until the third grade there. I understand that today, there are schools in the US that no longer teach cursive at all and I find that tragic.

    • That is just wonderful and amazing to me!

      I share your feelings about the schools in the US not teaching cursive. I truly feel that it will be horribly harmful to our students in the long run.

      Sharon

Comments are closed.