Fun Mail!

I went to the post office to check my mail on Friday.  I wish I had had my camera with me at the time because it was full and fun!  Just look at what I got!

Trakai Island Castle, Lithuania

First was a postcrossing postcard from Dalia.  It shows the Trakai Island Castle.  She says it’s a very old and famous castle in her country.  She lives in Lithuania.  I love the looks of this place.  I immediately thought of how secure it must have been back when it was first built.  The water surrounding it would make it hard for enemies to attack unnoticed.  Then I thought about how beautiful and relaxing it looks now.  I could picture it having a spa or retreat center in it.  I’d love to see this place in person.

Here are the stamps that were on the Castle postcard.  I love the church stamps the most, but the other is pretty cool too.  Possibly chess pieces? 

 

The next thing I want to you show you today is some rubber stamps I got from “pictureshow” on etsy.  I ordered the snail mail stamp and she was kind enough to send me the other little stamp as a thank you!  It is a little band of envelopes.  I’ve never had a stamp before that wasn’t already adhered to a handle of some kind.  This will be interesting and I’ll learn how to do it myself. 

by Elle Mental

I’ve saved the best for last!  Just look at this beautiful postcard!  I had been visiting the blog Art of a Letter when I saw her post about making these cards.  I complemented it in a comment and Elle, the sweet woman, sent me one!  It is a treasure!  I plan to frame it and hang it up so that I can look at it all the time. 

the other side

The back is just as fun as the front is beautiful!  I love the fun little “Postal Escargo/Via Snail Mail” sticker and also the beautiful line drawing of the coneflowers sticker.  So artistic and so lovely.  I wish you could see it in person.  Now, you have my snail mail address too.  Want to mail me something?  If you do, be sure to put a return address on it so I can mail back to you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fun Mail!

  1. Elle Mental says:

    Sharon,
    Thank you for highlighting my Coneflower post card on your blog and for the kind compliments!
    I was going to do it as a watercolor, but found that I was out of paper, so I sketched the line drawing on regular sketch paper then I scanned it and took it into Adobe Photoshop. I played around with the image in Adobe hoping that I could come up with something that looked like I had painted it with watercolors. It doesn’t really look like watercolors, but I kind of like the way it came out anyway… I had a lot of fun “painting” it digitally and worked out several techniques that I will be able to use again when I do the rest of the set of stamps on this theme. I am hoping to eventually have a set of 4 different stamps in one set with the theme of flowers and insects from my garden . The “stamp” has to do with looking like a stamp, not because it is a rubber cut. I am thinking about making a rubber stamp from the line drawing though. I have made many artistamps over the years, if you are interested I can send you some others. There are lots of mail artists who make artistamps, and some people collect them, I am one who does…I have really enjoyed collecting them and trading them. If you are interested in seeing more artistamps check out iuoma-network.ning.com (International Union of Mail Artists) There is a whole group of people at IUOMA who do artistamps. Take care and I hope to see you in the mail! Elle
    http://www.artofaletter.blogspot.com

  2. Elle Mental says:

    I left a comment on how I did the artistamp, but I don’t think it posted sigh… I will check back later to see if it needed approval before it posted, if it isn’t there tomorrow I will repost…

  3. I lurked on you guys’ conversation (LOL!) Very informative, Elle – you are quite the talent. Gonna head over to your place to see what’s going on & to the artistamp place. Thanks for bringing this to light, Sharon, my dear 🙂

  4. PS: I LOVE the snail mail/rubber envelopes stamps!!! 🙂

  5. Me too! I can’t wait to use them.

    Sharon

Comments are closed.