My recent ICADs

I have not been consistent in working on my index card art since leaving for Oklahoma.  I think I did a couple on one day while there and I did a few yesterday, but I was home then.  I’ve done one today, so I’m hoping I’m back on track.  (Just in case you’ve forgotten, my index card art is inspired by the daisy yellow blog.)

quotes

I’m headed to the Houston area tomorrow to see my sister’s kids for a couple of days, but I get a lot of time to myself there.  Sometimes more than I want.  My momma will be visiting too.  At some point during the visit, I’ll be doing some beading with my niece, but I’m sure I’ll have plenty of time for my icad while there.

Demented Dog named Spot, Worse for Wear Cat named Fluffy

I tried to do a little something different with a few of them yesterday.  I’ve always wanted to draw a comic type cat and dog.  I’ve lived under the illusion that it would be easy, for some reason.  It’s not!  You either have it or you don’t, and I really don’t.  Mine are pretty sad.  My cat ended up fat, with the tip of its tail chopped off and looking a little worse for wear and frightened to boot.  My dog looks demented!  He’s either hungry or sticking his tongue out at some kid.  I named him “Spot” for the one little spot on his ear.

my first attempts at postage stamps

I also tried my hand at drawing “postage stamps”.  Something that was inspired by the very artistic Elle at Art of a Letter.  I absolutely love the ones I’ve seen that she has done.  I would love to get good enough at it to make lovely stickers similar to what she makes. These haven’t had any color added to them yet.  I left all of my colored pencils in Oklahoma for my next visit.  It gets horribly tiring hauling things back and forth all the time, so knowing I’d be back, I left all that I could.  I just noticed, I didn’t add a postage amount to my stamps either!  Mine will probably be 7 cents.  I was born on the 7th and I consider 7 my lucky number.

self-portrait

Now, this is my very favorite icad that I’m showing you today.  I was walking from one room into another this morning when this sentence popped into my mind.  I couldn’t get back into the bedroom fast enough to write it onto an index card.  I gave myself turquoise hair and used my fountain pen to draw it.  I love the way my hair turned out.  That is the way I see my hair, even on a good hair day.

This entry was posted in icad. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My recent ICADs

  1. Viv Manning says:

    Loving your wild woman card!

  2. Dianne says:

    Love the wild woman statement…and also a big fan of Poe quotes. Well done!

  3. Oh! I do like your self-portrait – lots of fun and good humour! 😀 I also like your mail art – very neat 🙂 I too am trying to loosen up with a more sketchy, cartoony, doodley style with these little cards. So days are better than others 😉

    • Thank you so very much! I’d like to get at least one really good mail type thing that I could make and use in my mail art to actually mail. I haven’t done that yet and I’d really like to. Thanks for coming by and for your kind comment.

      Sharon

  4. Mary says:

    You sound very busy! Love the wild woman card and the dog 🙂

Comments are closed.