The Help

At first, I didn’t want to read this book.  I don’t even remember why I didn’t want to read it.  Then I saw a commercial for the soon to be released movie based on the book.  Oh my!  When the (white) woman is in bed reading the book of the same name and basically screams in horror — well, I was hooked right then!

I went to my local library and got on the waiting list.  This has never worked for me as long as I’ve lived in the house I live in now (more than 20 years).  I’ve never actually gotten a popular book that I’ve been waiting for.  So, when I got to Oklahoma to visit the kids, I got a library card here and asked about getting the book here.  That was a laugh too!  I was told that there are 6 libraries in their library system.  In their system, they have over 100 copies of the book!  They are all checked out and the next person on the waiting list at this library has been waiting since July ninth!  Well, I just started laughing when I heard that!  I told the librarian that I should probably just go buy the book.  She looked me dead in the eye and said “I would”.  Then we both laughed.  I put it on my kindle app on my laptop this morning.  The first chapter has me hooked.

This entry was posted in book, library, movie. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Help

  1. Robin (Cippele) Williamson says:

    You will enjoy it! I know I did.

  2. I got this at the library earlier this year on the express (2 weeks only – no renewal due to long waiting list). Of course I didn’t finish, but I couldn’t put it down! I put myself on the list (#106!!!), then got too antsy to wait. I re-activated a book club renewal so I could get it for free! Now it’s all mine (LOL!). The movie looks hilarious – they look like the characters were described. Good stuff!!

    • I don’t know how the pages of the kindle stack up next to the written pages of the book, but I’m on page 67 of 443 on the kindle app of my laptop. I’ve been having trouble sleeping lately, so there’s no telling how long it will take me to read. I hope to go see the movie late next week. I’ve already laughed so much that I feel like I’ve gotten my moneies worth out of the book! It’s really good. I wish I had read it ages ago!

      Sharon

Comments are closed.