Library Heaven!

I am totally in love with the neighborhood library here!  It is at least 4 times larger than my own neighborhood library.  There are people working at the information desk!  Actual live people!  You can go on up to them and ask if they have a book in the system.  If it is, but not at their branch, they’ll actually get it for you.  I’ve gotten 6 books reserved for little old me and they have actually come in for me to check out!  Now, that may not seem like a big deal to you city folks, but where I live, I’ve had only one book that I’ve put on reserve ever get to me — one in 20 years!   So, to me, this library is heaven!

In addition to the PostSecret books that I told you about earlier, I’ve also gotten Good Mail Day — A Primer for Making Eye-Popping Postal Art by Jennie Hinchcliff and Carolee Gilligan Wheeler and 1000 Artist Journal Pages by Dawn DeVries Sokol.  I read Good Mail Day yesterday.  Soaked it up like a sponge!  Loved every single word in this book.  I want to own this book.  Someday, I will own this book.  Until then, I’m keeping it as long as I can!  Although, I do have to keep an eye on it.  My grandson loves stickers and there are some in the back of the book.  He doesn’t really understand why he can’t have some of them.

I’m about 3/4 finished with 1000 Artist Journal Pages.  It is great eye candy.  My only complaint about the book is that I can’t read all of the things written on the journal pages pictured!  I would love to really be able to read each and every one of them.  I guess I’m a snoop at heart.  The art shown in the book is fabulous, with varied levels of difficulty and lots of different techniques used.  It is not really a “how to” book, but more of a showcase type book.  It may intimidate some people to look at this book before trying this sort of art themselves, but I didn’t worry about that.  I know I can’t do most of the things shown in the book and if I started an art journal, it would be primarily for my own enjoyment so I know I’d do whatever felt right at the time.

If you are at all interested in art journals or art mail, be sure to check out these great books.  I highly recommend them!

This entry was posted in artist, beautiful, books, creativity, drawing, envelopes, exchange, experiment, giving, letter writing, mail art, play, post cards, stamps, stationery. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Library Heaven!

  1. Dianne says:

    having actual people be helpful and friendly is a true blessing…the library should be a place of joy! yes, I want a copy of ‘good mail day’ also! enjoy your stay…

  2. Thank you for your comment, Diane. I agree. Actual people working in the library, being helpful and friendly is a true blessing. I like the thought of the library being a place of joy. I’d never thought of it like that before.

    Sharon

  3. My son and I live part-time at the libraries! He goes for DVD’s, I go for jazz CD’s, books & magazines. When I don’t have him with me, I spend hours at a time there. It’s something about being surrounded by all those books, the hushed quiet of everyone reading on having computer time that makes me settle in. I’m glad you have access to all the happiness the library has to offer. Those books look amazing! 🙂

    • I believe I’ll be living part time at this library! I went again today and got 5 books for my grandson to practice reading out loud to me with. It was so nice to go in, pick anything I wanted and not worry about having to pay for them!

      I haven’t even checked out the DVD section yet. I’ve been too excited about so many books! I’m going to miss this library when I return home.

Comments are closed.