The New Sunday Fun Times

Yesterday was the day that my granddaughters do most of their weekly chores.  After several weeks of being here with them during the chores, I decided to leave the house on this particular day of the week in an attempt to save my sanity and regain harmony in the family.  So, I set my alarm to get up early, I took a nice hot shower, I dressed and I left the house.

My first stop was Panera Bread.  I wasn’t hungry yet, so I sat out in the parking lot reading until I was.  Then I went in and ordered a breakfast sandwich for myself and my son, along with blueberry muffins for the kids.  I took them all back to the house and dropped them off and I left again.  It was a nice surprise for them.  I went back to Panera and ordered a muffin and a drink.  I got a booth, sat and wrote a letter.  I wasn’t hungry for the muffin, so I put it away (I ate it a little while ago with some milk, made a great breakfast today!).

After an hour or so there, I ran a few errands.  I picked up some prescriptions and checked out a new grocery store.  I also returned some books to the library.  Then I went to the park.  Rolled down the windows of the car and just sat there to read.  All of the benches were in the sun at that time.  It was just wonderful!  There are Canadian Geese at this park.  I’d never seen a live Canadian goose — other than flying south or north, depending on the time of year it was — until I visited this park!  I watched kids feed the ducks and geese with their parents and read a few chapters in my book.

When the library opened for the day, I went on over there.  I wrote a couple of more quick letters and then I found a comfy chair and read the O magazine.  I also picked up the October issue of the library’s Info magazine and discovered that they have a book club that meets monthly.  So, I got the book for the next meeting.

I ran by the house after that to pick something up and discovered that the girls were finished with their chores and were watching Thor with their dad.  So, I stayed.  Later we all went to Joe’s Crab Shack for dinner.  My son wanted to thank me for all I’ve been doing for them.

It was a nice day.  I enjoyed every minute that I was away.  The girls enjoyed their chores more because I wasn’t upset over them and their dad wasn’t stressed out by me being upset.  They did not do them as well this week as they have when I’ve supervised them, but I don’t really care.  Not my house, not my job. They are kids and I’m the Gramma.  Come on next Sunday!  I may even remember to take pictures next week.

This entry was posted in beautiful, book, change, cleaning, family, grandkids, letter writing, library, little things, son, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The New Sunday Fun Times

  1. clearly, that was just what you needed, Sharon. Maybe you should make it something you do for yourself more often, no? 🙂

    • I think you may be on to something here, Tracey. I’ll try it again this week, just to see. 😉

      Sharon

      • Event though Son & I go the library at least twice a week, I still prefer to go alone. Once he finds his DVD’s, he’s ready to hit the road back to home so he can get right to them. I, on the other hand, spend hours at a time when I’m alone. We have 1 library branch that no only have high-back, sink-down-in lounge chairs, but also a tiny 4-piece classical band that plays gently in the background!!! Yes, it is blissful. You would love it – reading to the sound of the harp. Who knew?? 🙂

  2. A harp Tracey? Oh, that does sound lovely. As tired as I usually am since I’ve been here in OK though, I’d probably fall asleep. That might spoil the mood.

    Sharon

Comments are closed.