Really Cool Mail Art Letter

I LOVE this stationery! # 1

I love getting good old-fashioned mail — in the mailbox — brought to me by a human being.  I love it!  It doesn’t matter what kind it is, my heart skips a beat and I get a thrill right down to my toes!  I have always loved getting mail.  I’ve always loved checking the mailbox, even when I was a little kid and had to stand on my tip toes to reach inside.  I couldn’t see inside the mailbox then.  I was never sure if I’d grab good stuff or a spider, but I always grabbed with gusto!

the back of the stationery in number one (# 2) LOVE it!!!

Now, I’m lucky enough to get good mail (not bills or junk) much more often than I did when I was a kid.  Since I discovered “mail art” and started decorating my envelopes on occasion, I get really pretty mail sometimes too.  That does not mean that I don’t love the mail that comes to me, in a plain envelope too.  I do!  Because a letter, even a quick note, is a true gift of time.

# 3 all inside the letter from Pamela

A mail art envelope is a joy to produce and a joy to receive and it is an artistic gift in and of itself.  I love it, but I think that most of us would agree that without the letter, it wouldn’t be necessary.  I’m not one of those people who just decorates the envelope for the sake of decorating and sends it off empty. There are folks who do that.  They are Art Cover Exchangers.  I like for my artistic envelopes to leave and arrive with a letter gift inside too.  Both parts are a gift of time.  Both show love and thought, but you usually learn more about the person who sent it all from the letter.  From their words, thoughts and on occasion, handwriting.

# 4 the inside of the stationery

I may be wrong, but I think one reason we search each other out and send mail art letters to each other is to be able to write letters!  To share ourselves in ways that those close to us often don’t want to because they don’t like to write letters.  If those near and dear only knew how they were missing out!  Pamela sends wonderful letters.  I feel that I’m really getting to know her.  It’s so nice to have a real pen pals again.

I hope you’ve enjoyed seeing one of the letters I’ve gotten fairly recently.  I still have others to share soon.  My grandson is home sick so I don’t know when I’ll have more time.  Hoping this inspires you to take pen to paper…..

This entry was posted in envelopes, exchange, family, friends, in the mail, letter writing, little things, mail art, stationery. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Really Cool Mail Art Letter

  1. Holly Mitchell says:

    I agree with all you said above. I love hand written letters and recipes. I love to do papercrafts and stamping. People love receiving them. I will also try to remember to save box tops for you. Hope everyone is well. Holly

    • Thank you Holly! I also found out, just yesterday, that the school is collecting Campbell’s soup labels and Coke product lids (pull tabs?) and carton codes. I’ll put you on my list and eventually write a letter. You never know when it will show up. 😉 Hope everyone is well there too.

      Sherry

Comments are closed.