Pottery Treasures I Found!

this may be the most close to the real colorMy dear Momma has basically moved up here near me!  They still have their other place and still spend a week or so there a month, but they are slowly getting everything up here.  I love it!  I love having my momma close by.  If I was at her house as often as I want to be, I’d be there all day long, every day and she’d never get anything done.  Neither would I, for that matter.

One of the things we’ve been doing is going out looking at yard and estate sales once a week, if we can find them.   I try really hard not to buy anything at all unless I can really use it.  After all, I’m trying to clean out and de-clutter my own house.  I don’t need to add stuff to it.  So, I had to really think when I came across these two pieces of pottery!  I really love pottery and these talked to me right off the bat.

I hoped the taller piece would work as a pen holder.  I was so glad to see that it was the perfect size and shape for it!  The shorter piece — well — I wasn’t at all sure of what I was going to do with it.  I knew I could put something in it on my desk, but what?  Then when I cleaned off most of the desk, I realized it would be the perfect little holder for my peppermints!  What do you think?

I sure wish I’d taken the photos outside, these show more yellow than they are.  The first photo is closer to their true color though.  I think I paid $8 for both pieces.  They had several more pieces of pottery there that day, but I only had $10 on me.  (Momma did get one piece too.)   Both of my pieces are signed COLE in capital block letters.

Of course there isn’t always a sale for us to explore.  Sometimes we go visiting friends or realitives and sometimes we go to movies.  I’m planning a couple of trips to neighboring towns soon too, just to explore.  I’ll be sure to take lots of photos on those days so I can tell you about them.

This entry was posted in cleaning, de-clutter, fountain pen, momma. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pottery Treasures I Found!

  1. Chris says:

    Hi Sharon, so glad you’re back!!!! I’ve missed your photos and your post cards from all over the world!!! I also love pottery and have a few pieces. One of my favorites is an old English jam jar I found at a flea market many years ago and it holds my pens, pencils and rulers. It doesn’t have a lid and I’d love to know if ever did. It’s very plain but I love it.

    • I know what you mean! I wouldn’t let the fact that a piece of pottery is missing a lid keep me from buying it. I also have pieces that no longer have their lids and I still love them. Some of my first purchases as a young married woman were a piece or two of pottery in San Antonio on my honeymoon! Love pottery, yes I do!

Comments are closed.