Very Interesting!

One of the shows I like to watch is Sunday Morning on CBS.  In fact, it’s one of my favorites and has been for years.  They report on a wide variety of subjects, some of which I would never hear about if I did not watch this show.  I record these shows and often don’t watch them until a week or two later.

I recently saw a segment on President’s Day, where Mo Rocca was talking to Harrison Tyler, the grandson of the 10th President of the United States John Tyler.  You did indeed read that correctly.  President John Tyler has a living grandson!  Not great-grandson, but grandson!  I found this just fascinating!  Click here if you would like to read it or watch the segment yourself.

If for some reason you can’t, I’ll give you the run down…President John Tyler who lived from 1790 – 1862 sired a child at the age of 63.  The child was Lyon Gardiner Tyler who lived from 1853 – 1935.  He sired a child at the age of 75 which happened to be the man they were interviewing on Sunday Morning, Mr. Harrison Tyler, who was born in 1928 and was now 83 or 84.  These three generations span 222 years (at this moment)!  Isn’t that interesting?!

If you have time, it really is worth watching.  Mr. Tyler’s wife is just charming and they tell several people the Tyler’s are related to.

This entry was posted in fascinating. Bookmark the permalink.