Honor a WW2 Veteran with a Letter!

I read a post on the Letter Writers Alliance a little while ago that made me grab my fountain pen and my paper!  It was a mail call for the Honor Flight of Chicago’s World War 2 Veterans to see the Washington D.C. memorials.  I checked out the website for the Honor flight.  It says that the average age of the veterans is 88 and they are expected to live anywhere from 3 – 5 more years.  The post on LWA is asking for letters to be written to the veterans.  When the veterans are chosen to go on the Honor flights, the volunteers put out a mail call to family, who then asks for letters from other family members and friends.  The only problem is that some of the veterans have out lived their family and friends.  I can’t stand the thought of the Mail Call going out and some of the veterans, who served our country so long ago, not getting mail and feeling forgotten.

Please, if you have any time at all, take a few moments to jot down a quick letter to one or more of these special veterans of our country!  Mail it off to the address provided in the link above.  Time is short though, the Honor flight is in a couple of weeks.  So, we need to get our letters in the mail soon so they’ll have time to get there!  I’m off to write another one now.  Hope you will too.

This entry was posted in gratitude, in the mail, letter writing, little things, military, thank you, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Honor a WW2 Veteran with a Letter!

  1. amyauthorblog says:

    What a wonderful thing to do! I am totally in! Any recommendations on what to write to them?

    • Hello! Thank you for your comment.

      I’m generally telling them that I appreciate their service to our country. I know it was a sacrifice. I’m thanking them for what they have surely endured on our behalf. Thanking them for the little things and the big things and telling them that I don’t feel that “Thank you” really expresses all that I feel, but that I don’t know what else to say. I’ve also told them a little of my own family’s military service, so that they’ll know I do know a very little about the sacrifices it takes to serve our country. I also told them that their service has never been forgotten.

      I’m also writing the same letter for each that I send in. It’s hard to personalize a letter when you don’t know who it’s going to and you won’t be writing them again.

      Thank you for helping!

      Sharon

  2. Anyes says:

    Thank you for letting me know I have sent this to my american friends and am passing the word around 🙂

Comments are closed.