The Few and Far Between

click on this image! it is a postcrossing 2011 stamp! sold in the Netherlands

You know I talk about postcrossing fairly often on here.  Today was a really good postcrossing postcard day!  I got 5 lovely postcards in the mail, 3 of which I listed as favorites when I registered them.  It took me a few  moments to realize it and then later to confirm it, but one of them was the first card I’d ever gotten from that country!  I love when that happens!  That makes me do a happy dance!  Because at this point, if I haven’t gotten a card from the country before, it’s more than likely one of the few and far between counties or more commonly called — a rare country.  These are the countries who have few participants, regardless of their population and therefore their names don’t get sent to the general masses often.  For instance Vietnam has an estimated population of 89,571,130 — but there are only 62 people in the whole country who have signed up to use postcrossing.  It would be rare indeed to get a postcard from Vietnam or to send one there either!

So, one thing I want to do today is share my list of countries that I’ve only gotten one postcard from:

  • Australia
  • Belgium
  • France
  • Italy
  • Malaysia
  • New Zealand
  • Philippines
  • Portugal
  • Romania * got this one today!
  • Turkey

Here is the list of rare countries that I’ve sent only one postcard to so far:

  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Israel (this one has never been registered, it is 5 days from vanishing and it’s been 11 months since the person I sent it to has been on postcrossing, in 5 more days, it will be like I never sent it at all because he won’t be able to register it any longer)
  • Italy
  • Malaysia
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Philippines
  • Portugal
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey

I’ll try to come back later and show you the postcards and stamps!

This entry was posted in ice cream, lists, post cards, postcrossing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Few and Far Between

  1. Pingback: Today’s Postcards in my Mailbox | Happenings on Chaos Ranch

Comments are closed.