Postage and the Cost of it All

Years ago — OK, many years ago, I used to get a little irritated if I bought a greeting card that had an envelope with “extra postage required”  on it.  It didn’t keep me from buying the card and I got over my irritation very quickly.  Now, I almost look for cards that need extra postage.  If they don’t “need” it, I usually put so much into my envelopes that I end up needing to add postage.  I like adding extra postage now.

You might ask about the reasons that I like to add extra postage now.  Well, there are really just three simple reasons.  First is that I want to help the post office.  Second, I love the art of our postage stamps.  Third and possibly even more important, at least to me, is that I use the stamps as part of my mail art.   It is F-U-N!

Now, I know that we Americans have complained on occasion about the cost of our postage, but in truth, we have little to complain about.  If  you stop to think about how far that little 45 cent first class postage stamp can travel here in the States, we get our money’s worth.  Especially when you consider how much it cost in other countries to mail a first class letter.  I read in this post on the Letter Writers Alliance blog about how first class postage in Great Britain has gone up about the equivalent of 22 U.S. cents in the last year and it is now about the equivalent of 95 U.S. cents!  Doesn’t that make you feel lucky?  It makes me feel lucky.  To tell you the truth though, I’d pay that 95 cents here too and not complain a bit now.

This entry was posted in little things, stamps. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Postage and the Cost of it All

  1. Jan T., Spring TX says:

    I’ve enjoyed using the beautiful RED Love Ribbon stamps lately and now you have me considering buying some if your Bluebonnet stamps. They are breathtaking.

    • Thank you so much Jan T! They really did turn out so much better than I expected. I had never ordered from there before. They are every bit as clear as a photo and the color is perfect! Great blue, just like a bluebonnet is supposed to be. I’m very happy with them.

      I love the ribbon stamps too. I spend a small fortune on stamps since I mail so much and I really love it! I buy vintage stamps too and quite a lot at the PO, got to keep them in business!

      Take care. It’s so good to see you here!

Comments are closed.