ICADS #5, 6, 7 and 8

Loading photos is quite frustrating since my son made changes to my laptop.  He made the changes so that I could print from my laptop while at his house, but I’ve about had it.  I think I’ll print what I need to today and then have him take all of the things off of the laptop that he added tomorrow.

June 5th

Little C has already ditched the project, but I’m hopeful that she’ll want to play along some throughout the weeks to come.  The top photo for June 5th is from Big C.  It says “Snail mail: It gets there when it gets there!”  She knows I love my snail mail!  Big C used an ink pen and a rubber stamp with black ink to work her magic on this card.  Mine is a magnetic poem  I used the nature poetry words.  Enlarge the photo by clicking on it to read it better.  I drew the magnetic words with a fountain pen and black ink, coloring them with colored pencils.

June 6th had Big C drawing Gabriel with a pencil!  I think she did a wonderful job of it.  Although she made him look mean, which he is not!  He’s a sweetheart.  Of course, she may have been thinking of what he’d look like if he was protecting her and I have no doubt he’d be mean then.  Hopefully, you can tell what my sad little drawing is.  Drawing is not my forte.  I’ve never been able to get the hang of dimension, for one thing or scale.  I’d like to be able to draw better though, so I keep trying.  I used a pencil for the outline and a blue colored pencil for the rest.

June 7 and 8 — just mine

June 7th was a busy day around here.  There was company keeping Big C busy all day, so she never got around to doing her card, but I did.  We’ve had quite a lot of rain the last couple of days.  The cloudy, grey skies were getting to me I guess.  I had planned to use all the markers and paint pens I had brought with me on my visit, but once I got the yellow on the card, I just stopped!  It was so happy after all the cloudy weather.  I couldn’t do another thing to it.  It was done.     Big C hasn’t done her card for today yet, but I’ll show it on the next posting if she does it.  June 8th had me doing something I’ve wanted to do for a long time!  I put paint on bubble wrap and smooshed it onto my card!  Then I smooshed it some more in a different place.  And again in a different place.  It was fun!  I want to do more of this with more colors, more space!

It’s not too late to join in on the ICAD fun.  Head on over to Daisy Yellow and take a good look around Tammy’s great blog!  There is an ICAD tab at the top of her blog so you can find links to others playing along and more information about playing too.  See you soon!

This entry was posted in creativity, drawing, grandkids, icad, painting, poem. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to ICADS #5, 6, 7 and 8

  1. Snap says:

    I think it’s great that ICADs are a family project. I really like your *magnetic* card!

    • Thank you so much. I’m trying to keep Big C involved, get Little C involved again and trying to get little bit involved to begin with. Maybe when we all sit down to do it, he’ll join in.

  2. Magnetic poetry…what a great idea for a card. It’s so simple but it pops in a big way, great job. And the snail mail card…too cute. I love snail mail so much and “it gets there when it gets there” should be all the motto for all postal systems out there. 🙂

    • I love writing the magnetic poetry, so it just popped into my head one night. Big C sees me writing letters and getting mail. She and the other kids help me make mail art envelopes. Mail is a big thing to me, so I guess it just came naturally to her. We had been talking about why I bought the snail rubber stamp recently too. Thank you for the compliments and for coming by!

  3. Jan T., Spring TX says:

    OK. I can’t draw either, so I’m not criticizing but I don’t know what your June 6th drawing is. Help! I’m feeling dumb. =•)

  4. maggie says:

    You and Big C are doing great. Hope Little C decides to join in again when she is ready. Love the snail mail. The magnetic poem is a great idea and I love how colorful it is.

  5. Jackie W says:

    Smooshing is good 🙂 Love your blog name 🙂 We live at Pony tail ranch 🙂

  6. Sometimes smooshing is okay….I’m not at artist, never been…Love your sketch of your sweet german sherpard. They are all great CARDS! Judith, Texas

  7. Jana says:

    These cards are ALL wonderful. I would love it if my daughters would join me. They are teens, and can’t be bothered with something so un-cool. LOL

Comments are closed.