Postcrossing Cards that fell through the Cracks

I don’t know how it happened, but somehow I have a small stack of Postcrossing postcards that I have not posted!  I could be that when it was time to post them, the photo turned out blurry and I decided to show it on the next post about the cards or it could have been that I got them right before I came up to Oklahoma this time and I forgot that I hadn’t posted them.  I don’t remember.  I just know that I couldn’t find them anywhere on the blog.  Hopefully you haven’t seen them before.

from Kathy at the Letter Writers Alliance

The first one isn’t actually from postcrossing.  It came from Kathy over at the Letter Writers Alliance in reply to me taking a moment to fill out and mail in a little “our community” form.   The information is used to pinpoint where all the members are on a member map.  Now I can be included on the member map.  This postcard is for sale to members of LWA and I had been toying with the idea of buying some, but haven’t done it yet.  Let me tell you, it’s really thick paper.  I love the feel of it.  I guess the print is letter-press, although I’ve never owned any letter-press stationery, I believe this is what it is.  The print is indented into the paper.  Makes sense, now that I think of it.  I’ll have to get some soon.

Maurice the Mail Snail?

Now the second photo is of something I picked up recently at a Wal-mart grocery store.  He’s my new letter writing mascot!  My oldest granddaughter, Big C wants to name him Maurice the Mail Snail.  He cost me $2 and was worth every penny.  I think he’s supposed to be a garden “statue”, but he’ll never spend a day out in the weather.  He’s moves about my nightstand at this point.  Actually, when I get home, he’ll probably do the same thing.  That way, he can whisper to me during the night about all the mail we need to write together the next day.

postcrossing # 1 from Natalie in Japan

Now on to the Postcrossing postcards!  Number one is from Natalie in Japan.  She says that she works in Kyoto and is always passing by this shrine, but has never seen it at this time of day, so she has never seen it as it is on the postcard.  What a shame.  It’s just beautiful here!  The picture of the back of this one did not come out.  I’ll try to get it again soon.

# 2 from Finland

The second card comes from Finland.  He says very little.  “Greetings from Finland’s winter sports city, Lahti”.  It’s signed Lexa, which is his screen name.  The postcard front shows a painting by Bruno Liljefors (1860 – 1939), which apparently hangs in the Mollbrink Art Gallery.  It doesn’t appear to show the name of the painting though.   I like the painting and the postcard.

stamp from Finland

This is the postage stamp that was on the postcard from Finland.  Looks like a flower we have here in the States.  Maybe a moss rose?  This may sound totally asinine to you, but when I was there, I was completely surprised by how many of the same plants there were in Italy that we had in Texas!  I don’t know why I expected them to be totally different.  Some were of course, but so many were familiar.

from Zowelle, Holland

Number 3 comes from Zwolle, Holland.  Gerrianne says that the building in the center is called De Peperbus and it’s Zwolle’s pride.  She says she really likes photography and music.  She hopes I have a wonderful day.  She wants me to keep my heart pure and not to forget to smile!  It looks like a lovely town.

postage from Holland

Here is the postage stamp from the Zowelle card.  I loved it.  It reminds me of a neon sign.  I had to check with Gerrianne to see what the sticker under my address meant.  It translates to “postage/payment checked”.  It’s the first time I’ve gotten something like that on any of my postcards.  I couldn’t stand to take it off.  So, I’m not, I’m keeping it right were it is.

There are still a few more, but I’m going to stop here for today.   I should be writing letters to Veterans of WW2 at the moment, but I’m not even going to do that right now.  I’ve been here with my grandchildren for over a month now.  This is the first time I’ve been totally alone for a chunk of time since I got here.  I’m going to take advantage of the remainder of the time I have left and read a book in the blessed quiet!  More soon.

This entry was posted in in the mail, little things, post cards, postcrossing, stamps. Bookmark the permalink.