Just wanted to say Hello

I know it’s been a while since I’ve checked in with you all.  I had promised you more postcard updates and I had promised daily ICAD art.  Well, I’ve broken my promises.  Life here in Oklahoma has just been too much for me to keep up with everything.  We’ve had days of hot weather.  Days of teenage hormones run amok.  Days of me feeling crummy.  It’s been all I could do to keep my head above water — so to speak.  So, I have not been on the computer much.  I’ve enjoyed the time away from it, I’ll have to admit.  I have missed visiting with you though.

In my time away, I have read some books.  I wish I had taken photos of them for you, but I didn’t.  First was The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka.  This was about Japanese “picture brides” coming to America in the early 1900’s.  Very good book based on true events.  I found it to be fascinating.  It was something I knew nothing about.  The next book was True Sisters by Sandra Dallas.  It was also based on true events.  It’s about Mormon converts who migrated from England and Scotland, coming to America to push two-wheeled hand carts from Iowa City to Salt Lake City.  I had never heard of this before and it was amazing!  It was a really good book.  I also read part of Thirteen Moons by Charles Frazier.  This was also a good book, but it was a slow read and I didn’t have time for a slow read right now.  I will come back to it when I have more time.    Right now, I’m reading Wild by Cheryl Strayed.  I’m hooked on it and I’m sure I’ll finish it.

That’s pretty much it for now.  It will probably be a couple of weeks before I’m back to normal on my blog posts — maybe mid-July.   Until then, I hope all is well with y’all.  See you soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just wanted to say Hello

  1. Jan says:

    Hi! I’m a fairly new follower but “had” to say thanks for posting this. My husband’s grandmothers were both basically mail order brides from Japan so I’d like to know more about the subject and am adding “The Buddha in My Attic” to my TBR list. The Sandra Dallas book looks interesting too – I read her book “The Persian Pickle Club” & loved it.

    • Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment. I hope you enjoy the books as much as I did. I’ve read a few of Sandra Dallas’ books. My all time favorite of her’s is The Chili Queen. If you haven’t read that one yet, I bet you’ll like it too. 🙂

  2. Jan T. says:

    I, too, will be checking out some of your book recommendations. Hope you are near the date you are heading back to TX. We’ve been busy here, too, and are now recovering from celebrating Gene’s 80th birthday with family here. I see why folks enjoy family reunions so much. Hugs to you!

  3. Pingback: What I’ve been reading | Happenings on Chaos Ranch

Comments are closed.