The Olympics!

I am not an athlete.  I have never been an athlete.  I’m one of the ones who was always picked last for whatever team sport we had to play in school because I’d miss the ball or trip and fall just because I’m so uncoordinated.  I accept this about myself.  That may be one reason I love to watch the Olympics!  These athletes are amazing, gifted fighters in the sports they compete in.  I do, of course, cheer on The United States of America in the Olympics — always hoping that our athletes bring home the most medals, but I cheer on the athletes from the other countries too.  How can you not?  I love to hear and read their stories of triumph over the things that tried to keep them from being there.  I love to see them fight through the pain, both physical and emotional.  The older I get, the more I appreciate all these athletes accomplish.  I literally get chills watching them.  I hope you do too.

This entry was posted in fascinating, fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Olympics!

  1. Jan T. says:

    Boy, can I relate to those “last ones chosen” comments. Too skinny, too weak, and too short!! I enjoy watching gymnastics, swimming, diving (did some of that in Ft. Lauderdale as a kid in jr high), and the end of bike riding but not six hours of it. My grandsons, 15 & 16 are here visiting so I’m watching more of the Olympics than I might have otherwise, and enjoying it.

    • I’m glad you’re enjoying it! I’ve found myself watching sports that I’ve never really watched before and really getting into it and cheering a lot! I even briefly considered getting up at 4 a.m. to start watching again, but decided against it. They’ll rerun it in prime time. I hope my grandchildren will watch some. Otherwise, I may have to go visit during the next Olympics to get them interested.

Comments are closed.