What I’ve been reading

I told you in my last book post that I was reading Wild by Cheryl Strayed.  I did finish it and I have to say I loved this book!  It’s mostly about her walk on the Pacific Crest Trail, but it’s also about her coming to grips with her life and about grief.  I thought it was a wonderful book.  I could barely stand to put it down or see it end.

Next I read Run by Ann Patchett.  I liked this book.  I might have liked it better if I hadn’t just read Wild, because I think anything I read right after Wild was going to be a let down.  Run is a little predicable at times and also not as good as my favorite book by Ann Patchett — Bel Canto, which I still think about on occasion.

Next I read Wicked Business by Janet Evanovich.  This is a Lizzy and Diesel novel (a series).  I am a big fan of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series.  Quite honestly, I probably never would have started reading the Diesel novels if he had not made an appearance in a Stephanie novel.  This is a fun, light read, but it’s not as good as the Plum series.  Just my opinion.

I’m now reading Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris.  This is number 12 in the Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood series.  This is another fun read, but quite honestly I’m getting a little bored with this book series.  The True Blood HBO series does not follow the books any longer.  It’s really like reading something totally different that just has the same character names as the t.v. series.  I know the book series came first, but right now, the HBO series is better.  If I hadn’t paid for the book, I probably wouldn’t finish it, but I will because I did.

If you can only pick one or two books to read in the coming months — pick Wild or Bel Canto!  I’d read them again and even pay to do it.

This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I’ve been reading

  1. Cassie says:

    You’ve read some really great authors. I read Wild and I wasn’t that impressed but I think I hyped it up in my head too much to actually love what I was reading. I think if I read it again I would like it a lot more. I started Bel Canto two years ago and just couldn’t get into it. Is it a slow start – should I try again?

  2. Cassie, when I read Bel Canto it was a book club selection. About half of the group didn’t read the book, which I was very disappointed about. Three of us who did read it, loved it and talked for months about it. Since I do love the book, I’d say give it another try! It has been a long time since I did read it and if I recall, it does start somewhat slow. If you do read it, I’d love to know if you like it when you finish.

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. Hope to see you here again.

    Sharon

  3. Chris says:

    Hi Sharon, thanks for the great reading list! Will be reading “Wild” and “Run” as well as checking out the Evanovich series, which I never heard about! Boy am I out of touch with the reading world!! Anyway, thanks for the reading suggestions.

Comments are closed.