Little things and Other things on my Mind

I’ve been watching as much of the Olympics as I can.  I have it on now.  As I started to write this, women’s weight lifting come on the channel I was watching.  I cannot watch that.  I tried the other night.  Seeing these amazing women lift twice their body weight is just too much for me.  I saw one do something bad to her arm trying to lift the weight.  Arms are not supposed to bend in that way.  It did me in.  I had to change the channel.  I don’t know if I would be able to watch the men compete or not.  I’m thinking not.  So, I may just not watch that event either.

Yesterday I went to a jewelry party at my friend Krissy’s house.  I got to see friends I hadn’t seen in months.  It was all good.  I’d heard of the company a little over a year ago, but I’d never been to a party or seen the jewelry in person.  I loved it!  Can’t wait to get what I ordered.

I had some time to kill before I actually got to the party.  So, I went to Barnes and Noble.  I hadn’t been in a book store in ages!  It was wonderful!  I’ve recently been checking out books at the library and getting them for my kindle since I’ve been on the road so much.  It was so good to be among real books with crisp new pages again!  I hadn’t planned on buying anything, but you know how that goes.  I ended up with four paperbacks.  I’m reading Unsaid by Neil Abramson now.  Started it this morning.  I also got The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman, Peace like a River by Leif Engar and Blood, Bones and Butter: The Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef by Gabrielle Hamilton.  I’ll tell you about them as I read them.

I finished Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris earlier today.  It was a light read, fun.  If you like the HBO series True Blood, you’ll probably like the book, but it may be a little confusing since the two works no longer follow each other.

There is more on my mind, but I’ll wait to share them another day.

This entry was posted in books, friends. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Little things and Other things on my Mind

  1. Jan T., Spring TX says:

    Always appreciate good book suggestions. Right now I’m reading a bunch of free books on my new Nook but I’ll keep your list and update it as you share your evaluations on them. Thanks!

  2. Chris says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more about books, real books! I read Blood, Bones and Butter. A lof of the area she writes about is a short drive from my house. Her father’s restaurant, is a mere 20 minutes from our house. I’ve not been to his restaurant but it’s on my list of things to do very soon. I hope you enjoy her book as much as I did!

Comments are closed.