Do you like Classic – or old – Movies?

One of my all time favorite scary movies is The Birds.  I remember watching it as a child and being terrified as I walked to school the next morning.  I remember feeling like the birds were all gathering in the trees along the way.  I was just sure they would swoop down on me at any moment.  Ah, the fun of being scared witless by a movie!  As I grew up, I realized that I love just about all the movies Alfred Hitchcock produced.  He was a master, in my opinion.  (And I still love looking for Hitchcock in each movie!  I’ve found him in a few.)  It would have been interesting to see what he would have done today with all the technical things available to make movie magic.  That was not to be.  He lived in a different era.  An era that I grew up in with fabulous actors and great movies.

As it happens, Turner Classic Movies is celebrating the 100th anniversary of the studio that produced The Birds, and many other films, by having a showing of a few of them in theaters across the nation.  The films will show for only one day, making it quite an event.    The Birds will show on September 19th, next Wednesday.  If you’re interested, check it out here and be sure to click on the “upcoming events” tab to learn about the other movies coming in October and November.

Just in case you’re wondering, I’m not affiliated in any way with any of this.  I just like old movies and think they’d be fun to see in a theater.  I hope they continue to do these events.

This entry was posted in little things, me, movies. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Do you like Classic – or old – Movies?

  1. Debbie says:

    Funny how different we all are. As a kid I was scared to death of that movie, and as a result I was also afraid of birds. I still don’t really like wild birds.

  2. Chris says:

    I also love old movies, Sharon! Especially if they’re in black and white and haven’t been “Turner-ised” as in colored from black & white. It’s such a phony look. Besides there’s something really special about B&W movies. My favorites are the Thin Man series, anything with Katherine Hepburn, Joan Crawford, Bette Davis and Myrna Loy to name just a few.

    • Aren’t they fun! I’ve never seen a Thin Man movie. Don’t know how I’ve missed them all these years. Love Katharine Hepburn! Whatever Happened to Baby Jane is one of the scariest movies I ever saw as a child! Joan Crawford and Bette Davis were both wonderful in it. Ahhh. Makes me want to go watch a movie right now.

Comments are closed.