Six More Great Gratitude Quotes

I didn’t start sharing gratitude quotes until the seventh.  In searching for more to share this month, I’ve found dozens and dozens!  More than I can share in one month.  So, here are a few more to make up for those first several days without one.  They were all found on www.goodreads.com.

1.  “On a second note, though, I have something to say about pain. There are lots of kinds of pain. Pain of smashing your fingers in a car door, pains of loosing a baby, pain of failing a test. But in their own little ways, these pains are all agonizing. Which is sad, and yet, happy, if you really think about it. If we never lost our car keys, or stepped in gum, or had a bad hair day, what kind of people would we be? In a word? Boring. We wouldn’t be passionate; we wouldn’t know it was exciting to get pregnant, or score an A on a final. So that’s why, today at least, I am grateful for pain. Because it’s part of what makes me the whacky, goofy, jaded, person that I am. Peace.” 
―    Alysha Speer

2.  “Eucharisteo—thanksgiving—always precedes the miracle.”
―    Ann Voskamp,   One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are

3.  “When it was done and I went to sleep, I lay awake and listened to the clock on your nightstand and the wind outside and understood that I was really home, that in bed with you was home, and something that had been getting close in the dark was suddenly gone. It could not stay. It had been banished. It knew how to come back, I was sure of that, but it could not stay and I could really go to sleep. My heart cracked with gratitude. I think it was the first gratitude I’ve ever really known. I lay there beside you and the tears rolled down the sides of my face and onto the pillow. I loved you then and I love you now and I have loved you every second in between. I don’t care if you understand me. Understanding is vastly overrated, but nobody ever gets enough safety. I’ve never forgotten how safe I felt with that thing gone out of the darkness.” 
―    Stephen King,   Lisey’s Story

4.  “Gratitude can transform common days into thanksgivings, turn routine jobs into joy, and change ordinary opportunities into blessings.”
―    William Arthur Ward

5.  “Gratitude means to recognize the good in your life, be thankful for whatever you have, some people may not even have one of those things you consider precious to you (love, family, friends etc). Each day give thanks for the gift of life.  You are blessed”
―    Pablo

6.  “When my parents were liberated, four years before I was born, they found that the ordinary world outside the camp had been eradicated. There was no more simple meal, no thing was less than extraordinary: a fork, a mattress, a clean shirt, a book. Not to mention such things that can make one weep: an orange, meat and vegetables, hot water. There was no ordinariness to return to, no refuge from the blinding potency of things, an apple screaming its sweet juice.”
―    Anne Michaels,     Fugitive Pieces

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Six More Great Gratitude Quotes

  1. Jan Thompson says:

    those are awesome. i got caught up in the earlier list when you posted one and then a link for us to see the others.   i’m grateful i have a computer and a friend who makes me stretch myself.

Comments are closed.