Reading Frenzy!

 

I finished Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore some time ago.  I really enjoyed it.  My mother didn’t like it much.  I wanted to know how it would end and what would happen next.

Since then, I’ve been reading quite a bit.  I finished Unbroken: A World War 2 Story of Survival, Resilience and Redemption by Laura Hillenbrand yesterday morning.  I read it in a couple of days.  It was amazing!  It’s heartbreaking and heartwarming.  It’s disturbing (I dreamed for two nights straight about airplanes and men in the military) and an amazing story of survival.  It’s a book that will stay with me for a long time.

I read The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker in a couple of days also.  I couldn’t wait to see what would happen.  I’m not going to tell you about it at all because I apparently don’t describe it well.  No one I’ve told about it said it sounded good.  So, if you’re curious to know what it’s about, you’ll just have to check it out yourself.

I read What Do You Want To Do Before You Die by the Buried Life.  It’s written similarly in the style of the Post Secret books.  I found it quite interesting, just as I do the Post Secret books.  It was fun and quick.

I’m reading My Ideal Book Shelf by Thessaly La Force and Jane Mount (I read that a few pages at a time at this point) when I’m home and have a little time between books or projects.  I’m about half way through it.  I find it interesting to see how many people are mentioning the same books.  Many of which, I’ve never read — yet.

I looked through Fresh Quilting by Malka Dubrawsky.  I love Malka’s fabrics and wonderful quilts.  I first discovered her blog, a stitch in dye,  years ago.  I’ve purchased her hand dyed fabrics on etsy and was thrilled when she got her own fabric line in quilt shops.

Right now, I’m reading How Starbuck Saved My Life by Michael Gates Gill.  This has been on my reading list for years, since I saw Mr. Gill interviewed on the Sunday Morning show.  I’m about half way through it.  Of course I almost always have a little “odd” book going at the same time, so I’m also reading Forgotten Bookmarks: A Bookseller’s Collection of Odd Things Lost Between the Pages by Michael Popek .  I plan to read Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn next.  That is if there’s time.

I think that pretty much fills in the gaps on what I’ve been reading (and doing!) lately.

This entry was posted in books, quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading Frenzy!

  1. Jan Thompson says:

    Hey Friend, Going back to your note a few days ago about not posting to your blog very much lately… Now I know at least ONE reason

    Jan

Comments are closed.