Gun Control

There was a shooting today at Lone Star College, the North Harris campus.  Details are still sketchy, but there appears to have been three shot and one who suffered a heart attack.  No details at the time of my writing as to the extent of the injuries or if there were any deaths.  My niece and nephew go to Lone Star College.  Until a few minutes ago, I didn’t know that there was more than one campus.  So, you can well imagine how this news hit us.  It’s turned out that the shooting was not at their campus, but that hasn’t stopped my shaking and tears as yet.  Compared to other recent school shootings, this one wasn’t as bad as some we’ve had.  It’s very sad to even think in those terms.

They think this shooting was between two students and others were shot in the crossfire.  One suspect is in custody and one is at large.  I don’t know what the solution to our national shooting problem is, but we, as a nation, need to figure out something and quickly.

One of the rights our nation was founded on is the right to bear arms.  We live in a rural area and we own guns.  We did not own them when we lived in the city.  We don’t hunt for sport or food.  We own them for a variety of “country folk” reasons.  Like shooting wild hogs that get into the yard or shooting snakes we happen across while out walking.  I fully support extensive background checks for gun purchases, but I am not naïve enough to believe that background checks deter criminals in any way.  Criminals don’t purchase guns from a store like the general population does.  They buy them from other criminals.  There aren’t background checks for them.  There will always be a way for criminals to obtain guns and they won’t be the same types of guns that the general public buys.

I do not know the answer to this problem.  I don’t even know if there is an answer to this problem at this time in our history.  All I know for sure is that all children deserve to go to school and learn without fear.  That a person should be able to go into any public place and be safe.  This should not be one of our worries.  Life is very unfair at times.  This is one of those times.  Something needs to be done and whatever it is, it’s going to piss off a lot of people.

This entry was posted in family, me, rage. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gun Control

  1. I agree with you completely. Criminals purchase guns from criminals or other underground methods. This is such an out-of-control issue that could take decades to get a handle on. It is too bad that our children, according to my 10th grader, have “shooting drills” once a month. Earthquake drills… yep. I knew about those. She only recently gave me extensive details on the “shooting drills” that began when she was in elementary school and are extremely extensive at the high-school level.

    On a happier note, I enjoy reading your posts.
    Take care!

    • I had no idea that shooting drills had been going on so long! I am saddened and shocked! I’m also grateful. I hope my nephew and grandchildren’s school also have them.

      So glad you enjoy reading my posts! You made my day. 😉

Comments are closed.