A Little Sewing

in the beginning

in the beginning

I started working on this little miniature quilt a couple of months ago.  I haven’t been sewing often lately, basically only when I’m at a “sit and sew” with friends or a rare quilt retreat, so it’s taken me a while to get this far.  I wish I had taken photos all the way through the process, but I didn’t have my camera with me — I didn’t even think about it.

taking it apart
taking it apart

It’s an OK mini (in the top photo), but there is something missing.  I’m not happy with it.  It needs work.  So, I started to work on it tonight, mostly because I have a creative itch that needed scratching, but also because time is running out to donate this quilt.  First I took a section of it off.  I kind of like the way each piece looks alone.  Possibly they will end up being two minis.

this photo shows the slice, a ruler showing the basic size of the top and the ribbons I sewed together

this photo shows the slice, a ruler showing the basic size of the top and the ribbons I sewed together

Then I sliced it and sewed the purple ribbon to the lime ribbon.  I want to put the ribbons in to the slice to add a little drama.  Don’t you think it needed a little drama?  Or at the very least, a little lime green?  I’ve had a lime green and purple thing going for years.  I was actually trying to get away from those sweet colors when I started this mini.  So much for that!  Looks like that color theme will be with me a while longer.

Done?  It is for today, at least.

Done? It is for today, at least.

Next, I sewed the ribbons into the slice.  Voila!  At least for now.  I have to live with it a bit to decide if it’s finished and ready to be quilted (probably with purple thread!).  Then, do I want to hand quilt it or try to machine quilt?  I’m not that great at machine quilting, but most of this is foundation pieced (like a string quilt) and it will be difficult to hand quilt through the extra fabric.  I do need to finish it up soon, regardless of which way I finish it though because it’s going to be donated to the live miniature quilt auction at the Quilter’s Guild of Dallas Quilt Celebration and that takes place in March.

Looking back over the photos in this post, I like the first photo of the mini (before I ripped out and sliced) much more in the photo here than I ever did in person.  Odd that I like it in the photo.

It sure felt good to do a little sewing.  I literally cannot remember the last time I sewed at home!  I’ve missed it.  I also miss writing letters, mailing postcards and painting.  Hopefully, I’ll get the reorganization of this room finished at some point, so that I can start doing everything I love again and start sharing it all with you again.

This entry was posted in art quilt, little things, mini, miniature quilts, quilt, Quilt Celebration. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Little Sewing

  1. Jan Thompson says:

    I do love the new combo better. And love the lime/purple addition. It sings!

    Jan

  2. Chris O says:

    I love the colors of this quilt Sharon! It’s more than just “okay,” it’s beautiful!! Love the photos.

Comments are closed.