Postcards to Share

First let me say that this is post 987.  Only 13 to go to get to post 1000 and my miniature quilt giveaway!  It’s not too late to get in on it.  Just mail me a postcard or letter that arrives before I post that 1000th post.  Make sure I can read your return address.  I’ll mail you a postcard and you’ll be entered in the contest!  Mail to this address:

Sharon Renick, PO Box 404, Trinidad, TX  75163

I’ve been lucky enough to get Postcrossing Postcards and postcards for the contest in the last couple of days.  First, I’ll be showing the contest cards.  Unfortunately, the photo of the first one I’d like to show you did not come out.  (I’ll try to take another one for the next postcard post.)  The one I can’t show now is a Georgia O’Keeffe card from Jennie in MA.  Know that you are entered in the contest even if I can’t get a proper photo to share right now.  I’ll be mailing out my return postcards this week!

Lovely postcard from Chris.  She is now entered into the contest!

Lovely postcard from Chris. She is now entered into the contest!

Next is from my blog buddy Chris!  It shows a photo she took herself!  Love that and love the photo which was taken at Lake Moraine, Canada.  She says it was taken in the early morning and that there were sandwich boards out warning of grizzly bears.  She did not see any, much to her disappointment.  I can understand wanting to see a bear in person.  I love bears and have always wanted to see one its natural habitat too, but I don’t know if I’d really want to see one in the open like that with nothing protecting me.  I mean, the area in this photo looks very open and potentially dangerous for grizzly bear encounters!  Whew!  Chris also sent me an interesting newspaper clipping about the possible ending of Saturday service at the post office.  She gets two entries in the contest!

Postcard number two and entry number two of the night -- from Jan!

Postcard number two and entry number two of the night — from Jan!

Photo number two shows a postcard from my friend Jan!  If I was on a beach in Florida and surrounded by these guys, I’d be too busy to write too.  Looking at the scenery would take all of my time.  (Doesn’t the little lady look very happy to you?  She makes me smile every time I look at her.)

I should point out that the postcrossing postcards are not entered into the contest for the miniature quilt.  I guess if they happen to come over to my blog and read about it and then mention it on the card they send, they would be, but that is unlikely to happen.  Postcrossing is totally different from my contest.  Just wanted to clarify.

postcrossing card from Karen in TN

postcrossing card from Karen in TN

The first of the Postcrossing cards is from Karen!  She’s sent a postcard from Gatlinburg, Tennessee.  She says she lives about an hour and a half from Gatlinburg.  I love TN.  I’ve been lucky enough to visit TN a few times so far.  I hope I get to visit again.  Lovely area.  She even used to live in Dallas!  What fun is that?

Alice in Wonderland from the Ukraine

Alice in Wonderland from the Ukraine

The second postcrossing card is just delightful to me!  It’s from Kharkiv, Ukraine and the front shows Alice in Wonderland.  She translated the Russian words on front.  The top part says “I wish I hadn’t cried so much, I’ll drown in my own tears, that will be a queer thing” and the bottom says “O Mouse, do you know the way out of this pool?  I’m so tired of swimming about here, O Mouse!”.  She says that she’d read that I liked birds and odd cards.  She thought this would fit the bill.   I don’t think it’s particularly odd, but it is fun and lovely.

Ukraine postage stamps

Ukraine postage stamps

These are the postage stamps used on the Ukraine card.  I love them!  So colorful and fun!  This card totally made my day.  Loved everything about it.

from Sabine

from Sabine

One last card to share.  You may want to click on the postcard photo to enlarge it to see if  you can make out the small words in each photo.  Then you can translate them.  I like the postcard.  It shows some great architecture  and other areas of interest in Ruhrgebiet.  Sabine says that Ruhrgebiet is in the western part of Germany.

postage on the German card

postage on the German card

I really enjoyed the train postage stamp on the Ruhrgebiet card too.

More soon.  Don’t forget to send that postcard and be entered in my contest.  I hope you win.

This entry was posted in contest, friends, in the mail, post cards, postcrossing, stamps. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Postcards to Share

  1. Pingback: More Postcards | Happenings on Chaos Ranch

Comments are closed.